[Date Prev][Date Next] [Thread Prev][Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

Re: Various proposals related to source-less material in the kernel



[Sent this only to Manoj when I meant to send it to the list; resending.]

On Sat, 09 Sep 2006, Debian Project Secretary wrote:
>         I am afraid I am beginning to lose track of the various
>  proposals that have been brought forth to address how to handle the
>  issue of source less material in the kernel sources. Could the
>  proponents of the various proposals submit a summary, including the
>  formal text of the GR, the seconds supporting it (possibly with the
>  dates of the mail seconding the proposal, to help track down the
>  signatures), and the one line summary they would like to see on the
>  ballot?

This is basically what I have;[1] I wrote this up because I'm trying
to think of a good way to combine 3 and 4, ideally as another option
to #2, since I think that's what they're getting at... but for now:
 
1. DFSG #2 does not apply to firmware and data
  Seconds:
   Raphael Hertzog <hertzog@debian.org> <20060822234554.GA31450@ouaza.com>
 Jeroen van Wolffelaar <jeroen@wolffelaar.nl> <20060822235904.GA5610@wolffelaar.nl>
 martin f krafft <madduck@debian.org> <20060822224615.GA22200@lapse.madduck.net>
 Stephen Gran <sgran@debian.org> <20060823001225.GB2976@www.lobefin.net>
 Michael Banck <mbanck@debian.org> <20060822225252.GR19914@nighthawk.chemicalconnection.dyndns.org>
 Martin Michlmayr <tbm@cyrius.com> <20060823060417.GB5319@deprecation.cyrius.com>
 Isaac Clerencia <isaac@debian.org> <200608230846.03870.isaac@debian.org>
 Andreas Barth <aba@not.so.argh.org> <20060823071430.GC2349@mails.so.argh.org>
 Martin Zobel-Helas <zobel@debian.org> <20060823091313.GB11162@frigg.ftbfs.de>
 Moritz Muehlenhoff <jmm@debian.org> <20060823160942.GA4929@galadriel.inutil.org>
 Anibal Monsalve Salazar <anibal@debian.org> <20060825031510.GU7578@debianrules.debiancolombia.org>
 "Marc 'HE' Brockschmidt" <he@ftwca.de> <87mz9t2rrv.fsf@nahar.marcbrockschmidt.de>

2. DFSG #2 applies to all programmatic works
 Seconds:
  Pierre Habouzit <madcoder@debian.org> <200608251023.57388.madcoder@debian.org>
  Alexander Wirt <formorer@debian.org> <20060825084758.GE2740@formorer.de>
  René van Bevern <rvb@debian.org> <87u041fapp.fsf@marx.progn.org>
  Frank Küster <frank@debian.org> <86zmdtt4ss.fsf@alhambra.kuesterei.ch>
  Kari Pahula <kaol@debian.org> <20060825105459.GA19650@sammakko.yok.utu.fi>
  Anibal Monsalve Salazar <anibal@debian.org> <20060825223310.GW7578@debianrules.debiancolombia.org>

3. Exception for etch firmware
 Seconds: 
  martin f krafft <madduck@debian.org> <20060830212041.GA21137@piper.madduck.net>
  Bas Zoetekouw <bas@debian.org> <20060830213804.GA15150@zoetekouw.net>
  Sven Luther <sven.luther@wanadoo.fr> <20060830213946.GA8001@powerlinux.fr>
  Bastian Blank <waldi@debian.org> <20060830214257.GA24721@wavehammer.waldi.eu.org>
  "Sylvain Le Gall" <sylvain.le-gall@polytechnique.org> <20060830225622.GA9250@grand>
  Enrico Zini <enrico@enricozini.org> <20060831075011.GA8362@viaza>
  Daniel Ruoso <daniel@ruoso.com> <1157013688.5311.15.camel@localhost>
  "Guilherme de S. Pastore" <gpastore@debian.org> <1157066431.5763.69.camel@localhost.localdomain>

4. Special exception to DFSG #2 for firmware
 Pierre Habouzit <madcoder@debian.org> <200608281149.24740.madcoder@debian.org>
 Clément Stenac <zorglub@debian.org> <1156832593.5455.1.camel@localhost>
 Julien BLACHE <jblache@debian.org> <87bqq3lu44.fsf@frigate.technologeek.org>
 Julien Danjou <acid@debian.org> <20060829114710.GB12459@chulak.adm.naquadah.org>
 Aurelien Jarno <aurelien@aurel32.net> <20060829130157.GA15268@bode.aurel32.net>

== Currently do not have enough seconds ==

5. Revert SC, firwmare need not follow DFSG #2
 Seconds:
  md@Linux.IT (Marco d'Itri) <20060905182831.GA13542@wonderland.linux.it>
  Romain Francoise <rfrancoise@debian.org> <8764g1mr3i.fsf@pacem.orebokech.com>

6. Allow hardware support from non-free (<20060905122545.1178DF6CBE@nail.towers.org.uk>)
7. Apologize for releasing non-free firmware  (<1156500227.5245.35.camel@localhost>)


1: It should be noted that this is about 24 hours old, and I haven't
rigorously checked the signatures to verify that they are actually
signed by keys in the keyring.
-- 
All bad precedents began as justifiable measures.
 -- Gaius Julius Caesar in "The Conspiracy of Catiline" by Sallust

http://www.donarmstrong.com              http://rzlab.ucr.edu



Reply to: