[Date Prev][Date Next] [Thread Prev][Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

Re: #### ###

Tomasz Rola <rtomek@cis.com.pl> writes:

> Two possibilities arise, as usual.
> 1. It (not he, not she, just it) is a troll. It enjoys doing things like
> this and harrasing good people.

Agreed as a possibility. There are plenty enough jokes about the idiot who
doesn't understand the nature of newsgroups|maillists that someone could
conceivably go out of their way to imitate such.

> No comments, the best that can be done is ignoring it until it gets
> canceled from the list. I don't care if the language is bad or if the
> sender is stupid or mentaly insane. If its letters have 0 bits of
> information inside, who would give it more than 2 seconds of attention?

Agreed, but the answer is `postmaster, abuse, and the list manager' in some

> 2. Somebody subscribed Mr. Layne to this list which was meant as a joke. 
> In this case, it could be a bad joke of subscribing him to much more
> lists and this means that he may get hundreds or thousands letters a day. 
> Not nice. Seems that somebody really dislikes him, if that's the case. 
> His reaction suggests that he doesn't really know too much about
> Internet, a casual email user. He got angry and he blames us for sending
> him all those emails.

If that were the case I would expect him to send a single polite email to
the list manager explaining the situation, not to mouth off at the whole
list/s. The attitude does come into play here - his sucks, and is serving
him no good except to raise a bit of bile here.

> Neither of this is connected with people from this list, as far as I can
> say. Speaking only for myself, of course. I'm not connected to any
> authority that could speak in the name of people on this list - but since
> I am subscribed for quite a long time, I can say I don't remember such a
> nasty language being common practice.


   13:58:23 up 35 days,  3:58, 11 users,  load average: 0.01, 0.07, 0.02
piglet@stirfried.vegetable.org.uk |Another day,
http://piglet.is.dreaming.org     |Another apt-get dist-upgrade

Reply to: