[Date Prev][Date Next] [Thread Prev][Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

Surprises during upgrade using Synaptic



For the first time I did a system upgrade against the online repository.
In the past, due to local conditions, my upgrades were by doing a fresh install from purchased DVD sets of latest point release.

I was greeted by list of locales to added or upgraded. Not seeing any possible harm I allowed it. I then got a screen asking to accept my current locale. If it already knew my locale, why didn't just initially ask if I wanted my current locale updated?

I was then greeted with choices to update several subsystems. I rather blindly accepted the recommendations. The explanations display seemed safe - would they be of use or just add bloat?

I found Synaptic's Help - un-helpful (didn't give enough info on what was happening). Is there a web page aimed at a beginner/intermediate user to understand what is happening?

TIA


Reply to: