[Date Prev][Date Next] [Thread Prev][Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

Work-Needing and Prospective Packages

Work-Needing and Prospective Packages for Debian GNU/Linux
Philippe Troin, phil@fifi.org
$Id: packages.sgml,v 1.57 1997/10/06 09:59:38 phil Exp $

1.  General Questions

1.1.  Before reading this document

You should have read the Debian GNU/Linux FAQ

1.2.  Purpose of this document

This document is intended to identify areas that need your
contributions. It provides information that hopefully changes quite
often, so it supplements the Debian GNU/Linux FAQ.

1.3.  Getting newer versions of this document

Newer versions of this document will be available via FTP and HTTP:

o  <http://www.debian.org/doc/prospective-packages.html>

o  <ftp://ftp.debian.org/debian/doc/package-developer/prospective-

o  <ftp://ftp.debian.org/debian/doc/package-developer/prospective-

o  <ftp://ftp.fifi.org/pub/debian-local/WNPP/>

1.4.  Feedback

Please send additions, corrections, suggestions and wishes to Philippe
Troin phil@fifi.org.  Please mention to which version of this document
your comments refer.

Try to change the subject of your mail to reflect the packages you're
talking about, it makes it easier for me to sort out all "Re: Work-
Needing and Prospective Packages" emails I get. A suggested subject
line reads "WNPP: removing foopackage" or "WNPP: working on
barpackage". Thanks.

2.  Changes

2.1.  Since version 1.56 1997/09/08

o  General cleanup of orphans package (no visible changes).

o  Started probing for people who claimed they wanted to take over a
   package and never did it.

o  Fixed a bad url.

o  Removed cam from "packages someone is working on", uploaded.

o  Restored majordomo in "packages needing a new maintainer" (new
   maintainer renounced).

o  Removed hpcdtoppm from "packages someone is working on" and added
   gom instead (gom supercedes hpcdtoppm).

o  Gpc, libgpc2 and gpc-doc taken over by Paul J. Thompson
   <mailto:thomppj@thomppj.student.okstate.edu> and removed.

o  Gs, gsfonts, gs-aladdin and libpaper taken over by Marco Pistore
   <mailto:marco@pisa.sbn.it> and removed.

o  Ucbmpeg and ucbmpeg-play taken over by Johnie Ingram
   <mailto:johnie@netgod.net> and removed.

o  Xmorph uploaded and removed from "packages someone is working on".

o  Added bzip2 to "packages someone should package" section.

o  Vrweb taken over by Larry Gilbert <mailto:irving@pobox.com>.

o  Orphaned guavac, javalex, java-cup and rsynth.

o  Wnorwegian taken over by Ole Jrgen Tetlie <mailto:olet@ifi.uio.no>.

o  Jean Pierre LeJacq <mailto:jplejacq@quoininc.com> is working on
   crack and cracklib.

o  Xfig and transfig taken over by Enrique Zanardi

o  Isite, linuxlogo, loadlin, ncsa, omir, pash, poppassd, syslinux,
   transproxy, worklog taken over by a mysterious Ben (ask Christoph
   Lameter <mailto:clameter@waterf.org>).

o  Added autofs, floppybackup, jered, nat, optimizer, sftp, ssmtp to
   "packages to give away".

o  Enrique Zanardi <mailto:ezanardi@noah.dfis.ull.es> is working on

o  Added addressbook as package to give away.

o  Xfmail uploaded and removed from "packages someone is working on".

o  offix-clipboard, offix-editor, offix-execute, offix-files, offix-
   trash taken over by James LewisMoss <mailto:dres@dimensional.com>.

o  Removed the packages Karl Sackett was working on (leaving the


2.2.  Since version 1.55 1997/08/25

o  Fixed a typo in PVM (was PVW).

o  Removed xgammon from "packages someone is working on" (uploaded to

o  Removed xpat2 and xsok from "packages needing a new maintainer"
   (new maintainer is Joel Rosdahl <mailto:joel@debian.org>.

o  Cflow taken over by Ioannis Tambouras <mailto:ioannis@flinet.com>.

o  Majordomo taken over by Andy Kahn USG <mailto:kahn@zk3.dec.com>.

o  Changed the email for Drake Diedrich to be
   Drake.Diedrich@anu.edu.au instead of dld@empire.anu.edu.au.

o  Orphaned tcl74, tk40, tcl75, tk41, tclx74, tclx75, tix40.

o  Added abc2ps and abcmidi in "packages someone is working on".

o  Added battalion to "packages someone is working on" and moved
   "rocks and diamonds" to it (used to be in the needed packages

o  Xfishtank and xgalaga taken over by Joey Hess

2.3.  Since version 1.54 1997/08/18

o  Removed asp from "packages someone is working on" (uploaded).

o  Orphaned tkman.

o  Bin86 taken over by Juan Cespedes <mailto:cespedes@etsit.upm.es>.

o  Orphaned pgcc.

o  Added majordomo to "packages needing a new maintainer".

o  Removed smalleiffel from "packages someone is working on".

o  Deliver taken over by Scott K. Ellis <mailto:storm@gate.net>.

o  newsx taken over by Adrian Bridgett

o  Added pppload and trafshow in "packages someone is working on".

o  OmniORB (preivously listed in wanted packages) is being worked on.

o  Figlet taken over by Francesco Tapparo

o  Added xfmail to "packages someone is working on".

2.4.  Since version 1.53 1997/08/11

o  Fixed address for Will Lowe to be harpo@udel.edu.

o  Fixed address for Hamish Moffatt to be hmoffatt@mail.com.

o  Removed JADE from packages not yet available (already packagedin

o  Added asp to "packages someone is working on".

o  Speak-freely taken over by Dave Restall <mailto:dave@restall.net>.

o  Hypernews is being packaged by Brian S. Julin
   <mailto:bri@mojo.calyx.net> instead of Larry Gilbert

o  Added hypermail to "packages needing a new maintainer".

o  Orphaned file-rc.

2.5.  Since version 1.52

Version 1.52 has not been released.

2.6.  Since version 1.51 1997/08/04

o  Tripwire taken over by Michael Meskes <mailto:meskes@topsystem.de>.

o  Changed Michael Meskes address.

o  Fixed a typo in smalleiffel.

o  Added isdnutils to "packages needing a new maintainer".

o  Removed vlock and genromfs, taken over by Juan Cespedes

o  Added uae, hpcdtoppm, and xpcd as packages under development.

o  Added rc to orphans.

o  Added pstoedit, wm2, gnuplot, gs, gs-aladdin, gsfonts, screen,
   transfig, and xfig to "packages needing a new maintainer".

o  Added libkde0, libkde0-dev, and kdeapps as orphans.

o  Removed dialog, taken by Bill Mitchell

o  Removed opustex from work-under-progress.

o  Removed freetype, taken over by Anthony Fok

o  Added a blurb about email subjects.

o  Es taken over by James Troup.

o  Dip and sliplogin tken by Fabrizio Polacco

o  Added fidogate in "packages someone is working on".

o  Maelstrom and hextype taken by Richard Braakman

3.  Orphaned packages

(An orphaned package is a package that has no current maintainer.)

Please inform me via e-mail:

o  when you find that you need to orphan a package

o  when you believe that the following list is incomplete

o  when you would like to maintain one of these packages.

Orn E. Hansen :

o  dialdcost

o  xega

o  xmailtool

o  xspread

Yves Arrouye Yves.Arrouye@marin.fdn.fr :

o  compress-package

o  ppd-adobe-common, ppd-adobe-extra, ppd-adobe-misc, ppd-gs

o  psptools

Dominik Kubla dominik@debian.org :

o  arpd

o  csh

o  ptx

o  spell

Brian C. White bcwhite@verisim.com :

o  zyxel

Raul D. Miller moth@firefly.com :

o  j1 (in old source format)

o  sam (in old source format)

Michael Nonweiler mrn20@cam.ac.uk :

o  nas

Jim Robinson jimr@simons-rock.edu :

o  mh-papers

o  term

o  witalian

o  pari, paridoc

Joost Witteveen joost@rulcmc.leidenuniv.nl :

o  xosview (probably to be abandonned)

Doug Geiger runexe@ntplx.net :

o  apsfilter

Erick Branderhorst branderh@debian.IAEhv.nl :

o  giftrans

o  idutch

o  mathpad

o  mfbasfnt

o  wdutch

o  wenglish

Christian Linhart chris@cosy.sbg.ac.at :

o  statserial

o  xarchie

o  bibindex

J.A.vanderMost jvdmost@wi.leidenuniv.nl :

o  dmalloc

Shaya Potter spotter@CapAccess.org :

o  opie

o  pgcc

Stuart Lamble lamble@yoyo.cc.monash.edu.au :

o  fsp

Larry 'Daffy' Daffner zzie@airmail.net :

o  xscreensaver

Guy R. Thomas gthomas@native-ed.bc.ca :

o  dld (do we still need this ?)

Patrick J Edwards edwards@cambridgnet.sk.ca :

o  mailpgp

Dermot Bradley bradley@muck.gpl.net :

o  radiusd-merit

Robert Leslie rob@mars.org :

o  figfonts

o  hfsutils

o  motifnls

o  sox

Joey Hess joey@kite.ml.org :

o  libkde0

o  libkde0-dev

o  kdeapps

Tom Lees tom@lpsg.demon.co.uk :

o  file-rc

David Engel david@ods.com :

o  tcl74

o  tcl75

o  tk40

o  tk41

o  tkman

Philippe Troin phil@fifi.org :

o  tclx74

o  tclx75

o  tix40

Michael Fletcher zidj@geocities.com :

o  guavac

o  javalex

o  java-cup

o  rsynth

Karl Sackett krs@cortex.caos.aamu.edu :

o  9fonts

o  9menu

o  9term

o  9wm

o  courtney

o  freeciv

o  freelip

o  gcl

o  gclinfo

o  glut

o  groupkit

o  imgstar

o  lee

o  libtclobjc

o  mesa

o  mimedecode

o  objpak

o  pgapack

o  premail

o  saoimage

o  snns

o  swisswatch

o  tcs

o  tkdiff

o  wily

o  xbattle

o  xconq

o  xephem-smotif

o  xpostitplus


o  rc

o  xcompat (should we drop it ?)

o  libc4 (a.out compatibility)

4.  Packages needing a new maintainer

Please inform me via e-mail:

o  when you find that you'd like to discontinue maintaining a package

Please inform the mainatiner of the package:

o  when you would like to maintain one of the packages.

Sven Rudolph sr1@inf.tu-dresden.de :

o  chimera (should be upgraded to v1.70)

o  enscript

o  seyon

o  lpr

o  xonix

Martin Schulze joey@infodrom.north.de :

o  xarclock

o  lha

Joe Kirby kirby@utk.edu :

o  lxtools

Christoph Lameter clameter@waterf.org :

o  adbbs

o  autofs

o  automount

o  bridge/bridgex (Bridging Tools for Kernel 2.0.X/2.1.X)

o  defrag

o  floppybackup

o  freefont

o  sharefont

o  jered

o  mserver

o  nat

o  optimizer

o  sftp

o  ssmtp

o  zmailer

o  berolist

o  verse

o  fdos

o  knfs

o  komirr

o  ircd

Karl Ferguson karl@tower.net.au :

o  sysutils

Christian Schwarz schwarz@monet.m.isar.de :

o  dvi2tty

o  hyperlatex

o  info2www

o  latex2rtf

o  mysql

Vincent Renardias vincent@waw.com :

o  ftplib

o  lde

o  libdnd1

o  libdnd1-dev

o  macutils

o  mcvert

o  xabacus

o  xmcpustate

o  xodo

Michael Meskes meskes@topsystem.de :

o  html2latex

o  icmake

o  ntfs

o  xftp

Joost Witteveen joost@rulcmc.leidenuniv.nl :

o  axe

o  pixmap

o  pstoedit

o  wm2

o  gnuplot

o  screen

Johnie Ingram johnie@netgod.net :

o  flin

Andreas Jellinghaus aj@dungeon.inka.de :

o  isdnutils

Scott K. Ellis storm@gate.net :

o  hypermail

Tom Lees tom@lpsg.demon.co.uk :

o  majordomo

Hakan Ardo hakan@debian.org :

o  addressbook

5.  Packages that someone is working on

Programs listed in this section aren't yet available as Debian
packages, but someone is working on providing a package.

If you would like to work on one of these packages please contact the
responsible person listed below.

Darren torin@daft.com :

o  giftool

Brian Sulcer bsulcer@gibson.com :

o  vile (vi-like editor)

o  rogue

o  umoria

Martin Schulze joey@infodrom.north.de :

o  vtwm: Virtual Window Manager for X11

o  yodl

o  w3-msql (W3 frontend for mSQL)

Christian Lynbech lynbech@daimi.aau.dk :

o  ilisp (emacs interface to a number of lisp systems)

o  hyperbole (emacs hypertext/info management system)

o  oobr (emacs package for browsing OO programs)

o  STk (Scheme Tk, a scheme interpreter with Tk support)

Dermot Bradley bradley@debian.org :

o  Umich LDAP

o  Nocol (network admin/monitoring)

Vincent Renardias vincent@odin.waw.com :

o  FWF (Free Widget Foundation) - A pretty good set of graphic widgets

o  Aero (A Physically Based Simulation and Animation System -
   <http://www.informatik.uni-stuttgart.de/ipvr/bv/aero/> )

Klee Dienes klee@sedona.com :

o  NIST's POSIX validation suite

Yoshiaki Yanagihara yosiaki@bsd2.kbnes.nec.co.jp :

o  japanese packages (mule, kon, kterm, canna, Japanese Extended less)

Boris D. Beletsky borik@isracom.co.il :

o  MIT scheme

o  Freedom Desktop <ftp://fsw.com/pub/fdlite/FDlite1.32.tar.gz>

Christian Leutloff leutloff@sundancer.tng.oche.de :

o  newtl (accessing Apple Newton Messagepad)

Todd Graham Lewis tlewis@mindspring.com :

o  Kerberos ver. V (crypto) (non-US maintainer still needed)

o  socks

Bill Bumgarner bbum@friday.com :

o  GnuStep-related packages

Kai Henningsen kai@khms.westfalen.de :

o  sather

Lukas Nellen lukas@teorica0.ifisicacu.unam.mx :

o  thttpd

Loic Prylli lprylli@graville.fdn.fr :

o  jove

John Goerzen jgoerzen@complete.org :

o  WorldVU-Atlantis BBS package

o  midiplay (MIDI player)

Tristan McCann trismcc@nh.ultranet.com :

o  Linux phone

Martin Alonso Soto Jacome masoto@uniandes.edu.co :

o  jazz midi sequencer <http://rokke.grm.hia.no/per/jazz.html>

Christian Meder christian.meder@utoronto.ca :

o  MuPAD

Andy Mortimer andy.mortimer@poboxes.com :

o  TinyMUSH

Lalo Martins lalo@webcom.com :

o  djgpp

o  enlightenment

o  enlighthemes

o  imlib

o  rxvt-imlib

o  eterm

Yann Dirson dirson@univ-mlv.fr :

o  perl5 programming (documentation)

o  Using SGML - basic concepts (documentation)

o  Understanding and writing SGML DTDs (documentation)

Hamish Moffatt hmoffatt@mail.com :

o  atp (text to postscript converter)

o  cam (ncurses based mixer for sound cards)

o  mars_nwe <ftp://ftp.gwdg.de/pub/linux/misc/ncpfs> (Netware server )

Mark Mickan mmickan@ozemail.com.au :

o  hylafax

Marco Budde Marco.Budde@hqsys.antar.com :

o  HTML version of Matt Welsh's "Installation &	Getting Started"

o  fidogate

Drake Diedrich Drake.Diedrich@anu.edu.au :

o  PVM

o  DQS

Charles Briscoe-Smith cpb4@ukc.ac.uk :

o  UPS - the X-based debugger. (There are Linux-specific patches

o  GSpreview

Peter Tonoli anarchie@brimstone.suburbia.net :

o  terroid

Joost Kooij joost@kooij.com :

o  xbat

Juan Cespedes cespedes@etsit.upm.es :

o  xzx

Will Lowe harpo@udel.edu :

o  clisp

Stephan Suerken suerken@fh-worms.de :

o  uae

o  gom

o  xpcd

Brian S. Julin bri@mojo.calyx.net :

o  hypernews

Adrian Bridgett adrian.bridgett@poboxes.com :

o  pppload

o  trafshow

Robert Resendes resendes@ici.net :

o  omniORB <http://www.orl.co.uk/omniORB/omniORB.html>

Anselm Lingnau lingnau@tm.informatik.uni-frankfurt.de :

o  abc2ps

o  abcmidi

Ole Jrgen Tetlie olet@ifi.uio.no :

o  rocks and diamonds

o  battalion

Jean Pierre LeJacq jplejacq@quoininc.com :

o  crack

o  cracklib

Enrique Zanardi ezanardi@noah.dfis.ull.es :

o  xmgr

6.  Programs that aren't available yet in Debian

Programs listed in this section aren't yet available as Debian
packages, but there has been an expressed desire to include them.

If you want to create a Debian package, send me an e-mail.

6.1.  Programming and development:

o  Scheme->C

o  ECoLisp - a Common Lisp compiler that produces faster code but
   isn't as widely used as GCL

o  CLiCC - Common Lisp compiler that generates stand-alone apps
   (rather large ones, though)

o  CLX - Common Lisp Xlib implementation

o  PCL - Portable Common Loops for GCL

o  Cross-compilation environments for alpha, m68k, SPARC

o  Modula-3
   (building this requires up to 200MB hard disk space!)

o  ACE <http://www.cs.wustl.edu/~schmidt/ACE.html> (a free C++

6.2.  USENET news software:

o  strn.

6.3.  Graphics:

o  Kubota Graphics Corporation's now-PD 3-D visualization system,

6.4.  X11:

o  Andrew

o  grok (database with many functions)

o  xidle

o  linux explorer (a file manager a la windows explorer) Linux
   Explorer <http://jungfrau.ptf.hro.nl/explorer>

6.5.  Networking/Communication

o  Roxen <http://www.roxen.com/> (WWW server)

o  ftptool

o  Speakerphone/Answering Machine for USR and Rockwell Modems

o  AX25 software

o  multicast (MBONE)

6.6.  Text utilities

o  HTML editors (tkHTML, auc-html.el)

o  Virtual Paper

o  agrep <ftp://ftp.cs.arizona.edu/agrep>

6.7.  Misc

o  Artificial Life Programs ( http://alife.santafe.edu )

o  Acmaint <ftp://ftp.ecn.purdue.edu/pub/ACMAINT/> (User
   administration tool)

o  bzip2

7.  Programs that someone should write

This section contains suggestions/wishes for programs. There is no
known implementation of such a program for Linux.

o  amspell (ms-dos) like spell checker, i.e. a spell checker what
   checks the complete text first, searching for alternatives (on the
   fly) and asking for user action at the very end of the checking
   process. This saves much time on low memory machines.

o  A Debian administration tool. If possible with text frontend, web
   frontend and x11 frontend.

TO UNSUBSCRIBE FROM THIS MAILING LIST: e-mail the word "unsubscribe" to
debian-user-request@lists.debian.org . 
Trouble?  e-mail to templin@bucknell.edu .

Reply to: