[Date Prev][Date Next] [Thread Prev][Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

FAQ: Work-Needing and Prospective Packages

Work-Needing and Prospective Packages for Debian GNU/Linux
Sven Rudolph, sr1@inf.tu-dresden.de
$Id: packages.sgml,v 1.32 1996/12/28 14:05:15 sr1 Exp sr1 $

1.  General Questions

1.1.	Before reading this document

You should have read the Debian GNU/Linux FAQ (
ftp://ftp.debian.org/debian/doc/FAQ/debian-faq.html ).

1.2.	Purpose of this document

This document is intended to identify areas that need your
contributions. It provides information that hopefully changes quite
often, so it supplements the Debian GNU/Linux FAQ.

1.3.	Feedback

Please send additions, corrections, suggestions and wishes to Sven
Rudolph sr1@inf.tu-dresden.de.  Please mention to which version of
this document your comments refer.

2.  Packages needing a new maintainer

Please inform me via e-mail:
o  when you find that you need to discontinue maintaining a package
o  when you believe that the following list is incomplete
o  when you would like to maintain one of the packages listed here.

orphaned :
o  binutils
o  libc4, aout-binutils, aout-gcc (stone-age compatibility packages)

David Engel david@ods.com :
o  libc5, libc6 (potentially a lot of work)

Andrew D. Fernandes adfernan@cnd.mcgill.ca :
o  acs

DJ Gregor dgregor@gregor.com :
o  xwpe

Christian Linhart chris@cosy.sbg.ac.at :
o  statserial
o  tgif
o  xarchie

Michael Meskes meskes@Informatik.RWTH-Aachen.DE :
o  adjtimex
o  fdutils
o  hkgerman
o  html2latex
o  icmake
o  lshell
o  metamail
o  ntfs
o  umsdos
o  watchdog
o  xftp

Dale Miller dale@csd.uwo.ca :
o  lclint
o  mailx

Ian Murdock imurdock@debian.org :
o  acm
o  aout-librl (this package might be unnecessary now)
o  pmake

Jim Robinson jimr@simons-rock.edu :
o  netpbm
o  xless
o  xpaste

Sven Rudolph sr1@inf.tu-dresden.de :
o  seyon

Martin Schulze joey@infodrom.north.de :
o  sokoban

Andrew Howell andrew@it.com.au :
o  xtron

Dominik Kubla Dominik.Kubla@Uni-Mainz.DE :
o  kbd
o  vlock
o  ssh (ITAR restricted, needs US maintainer)

Doug Geiger runexe@ntplx.net :
o  abuse
o  apsfilter

Yves Arrouye :
o  apache
o  cgi-scripts
o  compress-package
o  libpaper
o  mush
o  ppd-adobe-common, ppd-adobe-extra, ppd-adobe-misc, ppd-gs
o  psptools
o  xaw95

Michael Nonweiler mrn20@cam.ac.uk :
o  e2fsprogs
o  ipx
o  ncpfs

Joe Kirby kirby@utk.edu :
o  lxtools

Erick Branderhorst branderh@debian.IAEhv.nl :
o  glibcdoc
o  hyperlatex
o  id-utils
o  elisp-manual
o  emacs-lisp-intro
o  mathpad
o  dlh
o  wenglish
o  wdutch
o  idutch

Christoph Lameter clameter@waterf.org :
o  adbbs (needs a better setup of pre-customized files)
o  defrag (needs a major Revision of the sourcecode and made available
   for other architectures than i386)
o  linux86 (contains lots of 8086 stuff that need work)
o  ibcs
o  speak_freely
o  ncsa (new Webstandards need to be implemented)
o  man2html
o  gpc
o  upsd
o  idled
o  autolog
o  snarf
o  syslinux

3.  Packages that someone is working on

Programs listed in this section aren't yet available as Debian
packages, but someone is working on providing a package.

If you would like to work on one of these packages please contact the
responsible person listed below.

Chris Fearnley cjf@netaxs.com :
o  dome (http://www.netaxs.com/ cjf/jpegs.html)
o  and probably : xli

krs@caos.aamu.edu (Karl R. Sackett) :
o  swarm - Objective-C based artificial life research tool
o  GNU Smalltalk
o  utf-mailx: scripts to add UTF support to mailx.
o  SATAN - net security scanner
o  courtney - detects SATAN scans
o  gabriel - detects SATAN scans
o  drone - automatically runs batch jobs of simulation programs.
o  xephem - interactive astronomical ephemeris program for X
o  empire - Wolfpack Empire war simulation
o  togl - a Tk widget for OpenGL rendering
o  MIT Scheme - scheme interpreter
o  nanocad - a freeware CAD system for nanotechnology
o  WISE - WWW-based project management and metrics system
o  SLIB.

Mike Wilson cmwilson@uncc.edu :
o  mule

Sven Rudolph sr1@inf.tu-dresden.de :
o  xbill

Behan Webster behanw@verisim.com
o  sxpc (Simple Xwindows Protocol Compresser)

o  tkHTML

Darren torin@daft.com :
o  giftool
o  canna
o  lx-gdb

Michael Alan Dorman mdorman@lot49.med.miami.edu :
o  glimpsehttpd

Warwick Harvey warwick@cs.mu.OZ.AU :
o  mercury (a purely declarative logic programming language with
   strong modes, strong types, and strong determinism)

marcus@sysc.pdx.edu :

David H. Silber dhs@firefly.com :
o  dbackup - A Debian-specific backup program.
o  lockstep - A program to keep various directory trees in sync.
o  uucpconfig - A configuration program which will become part of my
   uucp package.
o  latex2html

Brian Sulcer bsulcer@gibson.com :
o  vile (vi-like editor)
o  rogue
o  umoria

Martin Schulze joey@infodrom.north.de :
o  vtwm: Virtual Window Manager for X11

Michael Shields shields@crosslink.net :
o  amanda, the University of Maryland's free network backup system.
o  nntplink

Christophe Le Bars clebars@teaser.fr :
o  MMM: a WWW browser implemented in Caml
o  doc-debian-fr

Jon Rabone 93jkr@eng.cam.ac.uk :

Christian Lynbech lynbech@daimi.aau.dk :
o  ilisp (emacs interface to a number of lisp systems)
o  hyperbole (emacs hypertext/info management system)
o  oobr (emacs package for browsing OO programs)
o  STk (Scheme Tk, a scheme interpreter with Tk support)

Christian Hudon chrish@debian.org :
o  qmail (waiting for license change)

Christian Schwarz schwarz@monet.m.isar.de :
o  metapost (postscript generating language similar to metafont)
o  TeX packages
o  Linux Gazette

Joey Hess joey@kite.preferred.com :
o  tracker

Dermot Bradley bradley@mourne.gpl.net :
o  Merit Radius
o  Hylafax
o  Umich LDAP
o  Nocol (network admin/monitoring)

Vincent Renardias vincent@odin.waw.com :
o  FWF (Free Widget Foundation) - A pretty good set of graphic widgets
o  Aero (A Physically Based Simulation and Animation System -
   http://www.informatik.uni-stuttgart.de/ipvr/bv/aero/ )
o  mySQL (mSQL like database, but completly freeware)

Klee Dienes klee@sedona.com :
o  xmcd (ftp://ftp.x.org/contrib/applications/xmcd/xmcd-2.0.README)
o  NIST's POSIX validation suite

Yoshiaki Yanagihara yosiaki@bsd2.kbnes.nec.co.jp :
o  japanese packages (kon, kterm, canna, Japanese Extended less)

Ian Main imain@vcc.bc.ca :
o  tkgoodstuff

Lars Esbjerg Hoeg lhoeg@imada.ou.dk :
o  dotfile-gen

Boris D. Beletsky borik@isracom.co.il :
o  ircd-dalnet (dalnet irc daemon)

Christian Leutloff leutloff@sundancer.tng.oche.de :
o  newtl (accessing Apple Newton Messagepad)

Todd Graham Lewis tlewis@mindspring.com :
o  Kerberos ver. V (crypto) (non-US maintainer still needed)
o  socks

Bill Bumgarner bbum@friday.com :
o  GnuStep-related packages

Stephen Pitts pitts2@memphisonline.com :
o  addressbook
o  Adobe Acrobat viewer
o  xmailbox
o  plan

Brian C. White bcwhite@verisim.com :
o  genpower, an UPS monitoring package

Kai Henningsen kai@khms.westfalen.de :
o  sather

Fabrizio Polacco fpolacco@megabaud.fi :
o  tv (Clone of Borland's Turbo Vision library)

Lukas Nellen lukas@teorica0.ifisicacu.unam.mx :
o  thttpd

Milan Zamazal pdm@informatics.muni.cz :
o  xfntil2 (ISO 8859-2 fonts for X)
o  xfntil2-nonfree (non-free ISO 8859-2 fonts for X)

Johnie Ingram johnie@netgod.tln.lib.mi.us :
o  scion
o  radiusd-merit-las
o  ttysnoop

Loic Prylli lprylli@graville.fdn.fr :
o  jove

Fabien Ninoles Ninf01@gel.usherb.ca :
o  VRweb (vrml browser)

4.  Programs that aren't available yet in Debian

Programs listed in this section aren't yet available as Debian
packages, but there has been an expressed desire to include them.

If you want to create a Debian package, send me an e-mail.

4.1.	Programming and development:

o  UPS - the X-based debugger. (There are Linux-specific patches
o  Scheme->C
o  CLISP - Common Lisp interpreter
o  ECoLisp - a Common Lisp compiler that produces faster code but
   isn't as widely used as GCL
o  CLiCC - Common Lisp compiler that generates stand-alone apps
   (rather large ones, though)
o  CLX - Common Lisp Xlib implementation
o  PCL - Portable Common Loops for GCL
o  Cross-compilation environments for alpha, m68k, SPARC
o  Modula-3 (
   http://www.research.digital.com/SRC/modula-3/html/home.html )
   (building this requires up to 200MB hard disk space!)

4.2.	USENET news software:

o  strn.

4.3.	Math packages:

o  Yorick
o  MuPAD (computer algebra tool from University of Paderborn, Germany
   http://gauss-mb.uni-paderborn.de/ cube/ , please look at the
   license conditions.)
o  felt
o  LAPACK and BLAS (numerical libraries,
   http://nils.wustl.edu/schiotz/lapack-linux.html )

4.4.	Graphics:

o  Kubota Graphics Corporation's now-PD 3-D visualization system,

4.5.	Misc Tools:

o  btoa

4.6.	Games:

o  rocks and diamonds
o  xibc (backgammon)
o  xevil
o  xgammon

4.7.	X11:

o  Andrew
o  grok (database with many functions)
o  xidle
o  olvwm
o  xtoolplaces
o  installation wrapper for Starwriter (Starwriter requires Motif)

4.8.	Communication

o  BBS (Bulletin Board System) Software

4.9.	TeX

o  tmview (svgalib DVI viewer) Kpathsea support should be added and
   the original author is already aware of this. Contact him first.

4.10.	Networking

o  other www servers (Spinner ( http://spinner.infovav.se/ ))
o  ftptool

4.11.	Text utilities

o  HTML editors (tkHTML, auc-html.el)
o  Virtual Paper (
   http://www.research.digital.com:80/SRC/virtualpaper/ )

5.  Programs that someone should write

This section contains suggestions/wishes for programs. There is no
known implementation of such a program for Linux.

o  amspell (ms-dos) like spell checker, i.e. a spell checker what
   checks the complete text first, searching for alternatives (on the
   fly) and asking for user action at the very end of the checking
   process. This saves much time on low memory machines.

Sven Rudolph <sr1@inf.tu-dresden.de> ; WWW : http://www.sax.de/~sr1/

TO UNSUBSCRIBE FROM THIS MAILING LIST: e-mail the word "unsubscribe" to
debian-devel-REQUEST@lists.debian.org . Trouble? e-mail to Bruce@Pixar.com

Reply to: