[Date Prev][Date Next] [Thread Prev][Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

Re: Bug#509546: www.debian.org: not suitable consultants list

On Mon, Dec 29, 2008 at 12:58:44PM +0000, MJ Ray wrote:
> "Hideki Yamane \(Debian-JP\)" <henrich@debian.or.jp> wrote:
> >  I saw http://www.debian.org/consultants/index.en.html#Japan, and was very
> >  very surprised, because there is the name "nihonsoft".
> >
> >  They are slashdotted (in slashdot.jp) some years ago... why? 
> >  Because they made their own Linux distribution by just replacing copyright
> >  holders name with using sed or something...OH NO.
> Please send a link to the slashdot.jp page or other related materials
> - I can get it translated but I can't find the page because I'm not
> sure how to search for "nihonsoft" at slashdot.jp.

 search for "site:slashdot.jp nihonsoft.jp" by google.

 I think this is it.

 It is not easy to translate this jargon-full Japanese though...
 In short, these guys are accused og changing license.

> [...]
> >  and others, http://www.fasp.tv/ stops their job (says in their page).
> I think that's only for the Groupware service.  Their debian webshop
> still seems to be open today.

I agree.  Pages are very old and not so .... 

> >  http://www.codwiz.com/ says only "meaningless" thing, and I'm working for 
> >  Debian 5 or 6 years (make and maintain packages, translate, join community 
> >  events), but didn't heared about them... it's so strange thing ;-)
> More importantly, I can't see any mention of debian services on their
> site, but I don't see that we require public announcement on
> http://www.debian.org/consultants/info though.  Might be worth
> emailing them just to check that they still work with debian.


But the burden of action for keeping these information listings current
should be on their side.  Annual automatic erasing unless these people
ping us my be a way to go, .... 


Reply to: