Re: Apt-get and aptitude man pages (was "aptitude synaptic gnome to be removed?")
On Sun, Jul 03, 2005 at 02:14:19PM -0400, R. Clayton wrote:
> 'apt-get upgrade' is restricted (and therefore safer) in that:
> under no circumstances are currently installed packages removed,
> Neither the apt-get nor the aptitude man page make that distinction (which is
> not to say it's wrong, just that you can't learn it by RingTFM).
Excuse me? That's a direct cut-and-paste from the apt-get man page. The
upgrade is used to install the newest versions of all packages
currently installed on the system from the sources enumerated in
/etc/apt/sources.list. Packages currently installed with new
versions available are retrieved and upgraded; under no circum-
stances are currently installed packages removed, or packages
not already installed retrieved and installed. New versions of
currently installed packages that cannot be upgraded without
changing the install status of another package will be left at
their current version. An update must be performed first so that
apt-get knows that new versions of packages are available.
What exactly are YOU reading?
In simple English... 'upgrade' is not allowed to change the installation
state of a package, 'dist-upgrade' is.
Marc Wilson | BOFH excuse #292: We ran out of dial tone and we're
firstname.lastname@example.org | and waiting for the phone company to deliver another