[Date Prev][Date Next] [Thread Prev][Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

Re: spamassassin: whitelist_from_rcvd ?!?!

On Fri, Sep 05, 2003 at 10:27:56AM -0500, Michael D Schleif wrote:
> Paul Johnson <baloo@ursine.ca> [2003:09:05:02:37:15-0700] scribed:
> > On Thu, Sep 04, 2003 at 09:23:49PM -0500, Michael D Schleif wrote:
> > > What do you think?
> > 
> > Bug #208806
> Thank you.
> Although I could have done the same, I thought I'd confer with the
> list, in case I'm missing some rationale for this behaviour . . .

The lines in 60_whitelist.cf use whitelist_from_rcvd so that they are
checking the Received: headers for a amazon.com mail server for instance.
A message that simply uses the domain name in an address wouldn't be
whitelisted would it?

I'm not sure where I read about this (I not even sure I did read it
given I can't find it anymore :-( ) but isn't the point of this list
that these sites don't send bulk mail unless you didn't opted-out (or you
actually opted-in) and will remove you from their list if you ask?

Maybe I'm just lucky but I can't remember any spam from amazon.com even
after purchasing several dead trees from them.

 .''`.  Jason Chambers <chambersj@thingy.org.uk> 
: :'  : Registered linux user #271693 
`. `'`  
  `-    http://www.debian.org/ - The Universal Operating System

Attachment: pgpAstIfFhV3K.pgp
Description: PGP signature

Reply to: