[Date Prev][Date Next] [Thread Prev][Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

Differences between run levels 2-5?

Has "Debian" defined any specific meaning to runlevels 2, 3, 4, and 5?
For example RedHat puts everything in 3, everything but NFS stuff in 2,
and starts xdm at run level 5 (as well as starting everything else).  Run
level 4 on the other hand is left totally open for the user.

As far as I can tell, Debian seems to put everything that you install in
2, 3, 4, and 5, without differentiating between them.  It seems like it
would be nice to have distinct meanings for run levels, including one you
get to make yourself, that Debian will never touch, so you don't have to
worry about it being changed when you install new programs.


TO UNSUBSCRIBE FROM THIS MAILING LIST: e-mail the word "unsubscribe" to
debian-user-request@lists.debian.org . 
Trouble?  e-mail to templin@bucknell.edu .

Reply to: