[Date Prev][Date Next] [Thread Prev][Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

FAQ: Work-Needing and Prospective Packages

Work-Needing and Prospective Packages for Debian GNU/Linux
Sven Rudolph, sr1@inf.tu-dresden.de
$Id: packages.sgml,v 1.36 1997/02/18 21:41:28 sr1 Exp sr1 $

1.  General Questions

1.1.  Before reading this document

You should have read the Debian GNU/Linux FAQ (
http://www.debian.org/FAQ/ ).

1.2.  Purpose of this document

This document is intended to identify areas that need your
contributions. It provides information that hopefully changes quite
often, so it supplements the Debian GNU/Linux FAQ.

1.3.  Getting newer versions of this document

Newer versions of this document will be available via FTP and HTTP:
o  <http://www.debian.org/Documentation/Debian/packages.html>
o  <ftp://ftp.debian.org/debian/doc/package-developer/prospective-

1.4.  Feedback

Please send additions, corrections, suggestions and wishes to Sven
Rudolph sr1@inf.tu-dresden.de.	Please mention to which version of
this document your comments refer.

2.  Packages needing a new maintainer

Please inform me via e-mail:
o  when you find that you need to discontinue maintaining a package
o  when you believe that the following list is incomplete
o  when you would like to maintain one of the packages listed here.

orphaned :
o  libc4 (a.out compatibility)

David Engel david@ods.com :
o  libc5, libc6 (potentially a lot of work)

Christian Linhart chris@cosy.sbg.ac.at :
o  statserial
o  tgif
o  xarchie

Michael Meskes meskes@Informatik.RWTH-Aachen.DE :
o  fdutils
o  hkgerman
o  html2latex
o  icmake
o  lshell
o  ntfs
o  umsdos
o  watchdog
o  xftp

Dale Miller dale@csd.uwo.ca :
o  lclint

Ian Murdock imurdock@debian.org :
o  pmake

Jim Robinson jimr@simons-rock.edu :
o  idanish
o  mh-papers
o  term
o  wfrench
o  witalian
o  wswedish

Sven Rudolph sr1@inf.tu-dresden.de :
o  seyon
o  lpr

Martin Schulze joey@infodrom.north.de :
o  xfractint
o  fractxtra
o  xarclock
o  xdaliclock
o  lha
o  dosfstools
o  ctwm
o  sendfile
o  uudeview

Andrew Howell andrew@it.com.au :
o  xtron

Stuart Lamble lamble@yoyo.cc.monash.edu.au :
o  fsp
o  libelf
o  lyx

Doug Geiger runexe@ntplx.net :
o  abuse
o  apsfilter

Yves Arrouye :
o  compress-package
o  mush
o  ppd-adobe-common, ppd-adobe-extra, ppd-adobe-misc, ppd-gs
o  psptools

Michael Nonweiler mrn20@cam.ac.uk :
o  ipx
o  nas
o  ncpfs

Joe Kirby kirby@utk.edu :
o  lxtools

Erick Branderhorst branderh@debian.IAEhv.nl :
o  glibcdoc
o  hyperlatex
o  id-utils
o  mathpad
o  dlh
o  wenglish
o  wdutch
o  idutch

Christoph Lameter clameter@waterf.org :
o  adbbs (needs a better setup of pre-customized files)
o  bridge/bridgex (Bridging Tools for Kernel 2.0.X/2.1.X)
o  chos
o  defrag
o  freefont
o  genromfs
o  ibcs
o  ircd
o  ncompress
o  ncsa (new Webstandards need to be implemented)
o  netdiag
o  newsx
o  pash
o  poppassd
o  sharefont
o  syslinux
o  upsd

llucius llucius@millcomm.com :
o  dialog

Karl Ferguson karl@tower.net.au :
o  sysutils

Marcel Riedi:
o  rsynth

3.  Packages that someone is working on

Programs listed in this section aren't yet available as Debian
packages, but someone is working on providing a package.

If you would like to work on one of these packages please contact the
responsible person listed below.

krs@caos.aamu.edu (Karl R. Sackett) :
o  swarm - Objective-C based artificial life research tool
o  GNU Smalltalk
o  utf-mailx: scripts to add UTF support to mailx.
o  SATAN - net security scanner
o  courtney - detects SATAN scans
o  gabriel - detects SATAN scans
o  drone - automatically runs batch jobs of simulation programs.
o  xephem - interactive astronomical ephemeris program for X
o  empire - Wolfpack Empire war simulation
o  togl - a Tk widget for OpenGL rendering
o  MIT Scheme - scheme interpreter
o  nanocad - a freeware CAD system for nanotechnology
o  WISE - WWW-based project management and metrics system

Darren torin@daft.com :
o  giftool
o  lx-gdb

Michael Alan Dorman mdorman@lot49.med.miami.edu :
o  glimpsehttpd

David H. Silber dhs@firefly.com :
o  dbackup - A Debian-specific backup program.
o  lockstep - A program to keep various directory trees in sync.
o  uucpconfig - A configuration program which will become part of my
   uucp package.
o  latex2html

Brian Sulcer bsulcer@gibson.com :
o  vile (vi-like editor)
o  rogue
o  umoria

Martin Schulze joey@infodrom.north.de :
o  vtwm: Virtual Window Manager for X11
o  yodl
o  w3-msql (W3 frontend for mSQL)

Michael Shields shields@crosslink.net :
o  amanda, the University of Maryland's free network backup system.
o  nntplink

Christophe Le Bars clebars@teaser.fr :
o  MMM: a WWW browser implemented in Caml
o  doc-debian-fr

Christian Lynbech lynbech@daimi.aau.dk :
o  ilisp (emacs interface to a number of lisp systems)
o  hyperbole (emacs hypertext/info management system)
o  oobr (emacs package for browsing OO programs)
o  STk (Scheme Tk, a scheme interpreter with Tk support)

Christian Hudon chrish@debian.org :
o  qmail (waiting for license change)

Christian Schwarz schwarz@monet.m.isar.de :
o  metapost (postscript generating language similar to metafont)
o  TeX packages

Dermot Bradley bradley@mourne.gpl.net :
o  Hylafax
o  Umich LDAP
o  Nocol (network admin/monitoring)
o  MRTG (Multi Router Traffic Grapher)
o  Minivend (WWW-based catalogues)
o  Gated
o  PMConsole (Livingston's Portmaster admin tool)
o  Portmaster tools (pmwho, log analyzers, etc)

Vincent Renardias vincent@odin.waw.com :
o  FWF (Free Widget Foundation) - A pretty good set of graphic widgets
o  Aero (A Physically Based Simulation and Animation System -
   http://www.informatik.uni-stuttgart.de/ipvr/bv/aero/ )

Klee Dienes klee@sedona.com :
o  xmcd (ftp://ftp.x.org/contrib/applications/xmcd/xmcd-2.0.README)
o  NIST's POSIX validation suite

Yoshiaki Yanagihara yosiaki@bsd2.kbnes.nec.co.jp :
o  japanese packages (mule, kon, kterm, canna, Japanese Extended less)

Lars Esbjerg Hoeg lhoeg@imada.ou.dk :
o  dotfile-gen

Boris D. Beletsky borik@isracom.co.il :
o  ircd-dalnet (dalnet irc daemon)

Christian Leutloff leutloff@sundancer.tng.oche.de :
o  newtl (accessing Apple Newton Messagepad)

Todd Graham Lewis tlewis@mindspring.com :
o  Kerberos ver. V (crypto) (non-US maintainer still needed)
o  socks

Bill Bumgarner bbum@friday.com :
o  GnuStep-related packages

Stephen Pitts pitts2@memphisonline.com :
o  addressbook
o  xmailbox
o  plan

Brian C. White bcwhite@verisim.com :
o  genpower, an UPS monitoring package

Kai Henningsen kai@khms.westfalen.de :
o  sather

Lukas Nellen lukas@teorica0.ifisicacu.unam.mx :
o  thttpd

Johnie Ingram johnie@netgod.tln.lib.mi.us :
o  scion
o  sniffit
o  radiusd-merit-las
o  phpfi
o  xssi
o  libfcgi1
o  libfcgi1-dev

Loic Prylli lprylli@graville.fdn.fr :
o  jove

Fabien Ninoles Ninf01@gel.usherb.ca :
o  VRweb (vrml browser)

John Goerzen jgoerzen@complete.org :
o  WorldVU-Atlantis BBS package
o  midiplay (MIDI player)

Tristan McCann trismcc@nh.ultranet.com :
o  Linux phone

Goran Andersson goran_a@maths.lth.se :
o  iswedish

Martin Alonso Soto Jacome masoto@uniandes.edu.co :
o  wxwin ( http://web.ukonline.co.uk/julian.smart/wxwin/ )
o  jazz midi sequencer ( http://rokke.grm.hia.no/per/jazz.html )

4.  Programs that aren't available yet in Debian

Programs listed in this section aren't yet available as Debian
packages, but there has been an expressed desire to include them.

If you want to create a Debian package, send me an e-mail.

4.1.  Programming and development:

o  UPS - the X-based debugger. (There are Linux-specific patches
o  Scheme->C
o  CLISP - Common Lisp interpreter
o  ECoLisp - a Common Lisp compiler that produces faster code but
   isn't as widely used as GCL
o  CLiCC - Common Lisp compiler that generates stand-alone apps
   (rather large ones, though)
o  CLX - Common Lisp Xlib implementation
o  PCL - Portable Common Loops for GCL
o  Cross-compilation environments for alpha, m68k, SPARC
o  Modula-3 (
   http://www.research.digital.com/SRC/modula-3/html/home.html )
   (building this requires up to 200MB hard disk space!)

4.2.  USENET news software:

o  strn.

4.3.  Math packages:

o  MuPAD (computer algebra tool from University of Paderborn, Germany
   http://gauss-mb.uni-paderborn.de/ cube/ , please look at the
   license conditions.)
o  felt
o  BLAS (numerical libraries, http://nils.wustl.edu/schiotz/lapack-
   linux.html )
o  mercury (a purely declarative logic programming language with
   strong modes, strong types, and strong determinism)

4.4.  Graphics:

o  Kubota Graphics Corporation's now-PD 3-D visualization system,

4.5.  Games:

o  rocks and diamonds
o  xgammon

4.6.  X11:

o  Andrew
o  grok (database with many functions)
o  xidle
o  xtoolplaces
o  installation wrapper for Starwriter (Starwriter requires Motif)

4.7.  Networking

o  Roxen (WWW server, http://spinner.infovav.se/ )
o  Amaya (W3C editor and browser,  http://www.w3.org/pub/WWW/Amaya )
o  ftptool

4.8.  Text utilities

o  HTML editors (tkHTML, auc-html.el)
o  Virtual Paper (
   http://www.research.digital.com:80/SRC/virtualpaper/ )

5.  Programs that someone should write

This section contains suggestions/wishes for programs. There is no
known implementation of such a program for Linux.

o  amspell (ms-dos) like spell checker, i.e. a spell checker what
   checks the complete text first, searching for alternatives (on the
   fly) and asking for user action at the very end of the checking
   process. This saves much time on low memory machines.

Sven Rudolph <sr1@inf.tu-dresden.de> ; WWW : http://www.sax.de/~sr1/

TO UNSUBSCRIBE FROM THIS MAILING LIST: e-mail the word "unsubscribe" to
debian-devel-REQUEST@lists.debian.org . Trouble? e-mail to Bruce@Pixar.com

Reply to: