[Date Prev][Date Next] [Thread Prev][Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

Proposed mass-bug filing: missing support for build-arch or build-indep



Hi,

I would like to propose a mass bug filing on source packages that miss
support for build-arch or build-indep targets in debian/rules.

Those targets were made mandatory in Debian Policy 3.9.4 (released in
August 2012). From the changelog:
  * build-arch and build-indep are now mandatory targets in debian/rules,
    implementing the Technical Committee ruling in #629385.  Wording
    review by Jonathan Nieder, Jakub Wilk, and Roger Leigh.
    (Closes: #374029)

There are currently 411 packages in testing that do not include those
targets, according to lintian's debian-rules-missing-recommended-target
tag.  (I will also file a bug against lintian to reflect that those
targets are now required).

I do not particularly care about those targets, but I believe that it is
a good idea to use this old policy change as a way to identify packages
whose packaging should be upgraded to newer practices.

Here is the template I plan to use:
-------------------------------------->8

Source: SOURCE
Version: VERSION
Severity: serious
Tags: bookworm sid
Usertags: build-arch-indep

Hi,

According to lintian, this package does not implement
build-arch/build-indep targets in debian/rules. Those are mandatory
since Debian Policy 3.9.4, released in 2012.

This mass bug filing was discussed on the debian-devel mailing list. See
URL

While fixing this bug, please also consider upgrading this package's
packaging to newer standards or best practices (such as using dh,
maintaining the package in git on salsa, using a newer source format,
etc.)
-------------------------------------->8

I attached a dd-list.

To limit the noise on the debian-bugs-rc list, I will wait until after
the bullseye release to file those bugs.

Any comments?

Lucas
A Mennucc1 <mennucc1@debian.org>
   libppd

Adam Majer <adamm@zombino.com>
   lpr
   sc

Adam Sloboda <ja@disorder.sk>
   gkrellm-thinkbat
   gkrellm-xkb

Adi Zaimi <adizaimi@users.sourceforge.net>
   gkrelltop

Adrian Bunk <bunk@debian.org>
   gkrellmoon

Alan Baghumian <alan@technotux.org>
   myspell-fa (U)
   myspell-hy

Alberto Capella Silva <alberkman@gmail.com>
   squidtaild

Alberto Furia <straluna@email.it>
   wbox

Alex Pennace <alex@pennace.org>
   dircproxy
   pentium-builder

Alexander Gordeev <lasaine@lvk.cs.msu.su>
   madwimax

Alexander Wirt <formorer@debian.org>
   libmail-verify-perl
   libmp3-info-perl
   mp3burn

Alexandre Ratchov <alex@caoua.org>
   midish

alice ferrazzi (aliceinwire) <aliceinwire@gnumerica.org>
   abr2gbr

Amaya Rodrigo Sastre <amaya@debian.org>
   perforate

Andreas Barth <aba@not.so.argh.org>
   netpbm-free

Andrew McMillan <debian@mcmillan.net.nz>
   whereami

Angel Ramos <seamus@debian.org>
   hunt

Anibal Monsalve Salazar <anibal@debian.org>
   bootp
   elida
   xfsdump (U)

Antoine Jacquet <royale@zerezo.com>
   fapg

Anton Zinoviev <zinoviev@debian.org>
   console-cyrillic
   fortunes-bg
   scalable-cyrfonts
   trscripts

Antonin Kral <A.Kral@sh.cvut.cz>
   minisapserver

Ari Pollak <ari@debian.org>
   gav
   gav-themes
   gltron
   jnettop

Arjan Oosting <arjan@debian.org>
   hugs98 (U)

Armando Segnini <armaseg@gmail.com>
   gpsim-doc

Asheesh Laroia <asheesh@asheesh.org>
   cue2toc

Atsuhito Kohda <kohda@debian.org>
   jtex-base (U)

Atsushi KAMOSHIDA <kamop@debian.org>
   libjcode-pm-perl

Aurelien Jarno <aurel32@debian.org>
   fortunes-fr

Aurélio A. Heckert <aurium@gmail.com>
   ink-generator

Barry deFreese <bdefreese@debian.org>
   hawknl (U)
   pixbros (U)

Bartosz Fenski <fenio@debian.org>
   libuninum

Bastian Blank <waldi@debian.org>
   sysconfig (U)

Benjamin Mako Hill <mako@debian.org>
   libtext-wikiformat-perl
   libwww-mediawiki-client-perl

Benoit Mortier <benoit.mortier@opensides.be>
   vncsnapshot

Bill Allombert <ballombe@debian.org>
   menu
   menu-l10n
   menu-xdg
   pari-elldata
   pari-galdata
   pari-galpol
   pari-seadata
   popularity-contest (U)
   toppler

Bradley Smith <bradsmith@debian.org>
   libview
   plib-doc

Brandon Barnes <winterknight@nerdshack.com>
   xevil

Breno Leitao <leitao@debian.org>
   cappuccino

Carlos Laviola <claviola@debian.org>
   bplay

Chris Boyle <cmb@debian.org>
   aewm++
   sapphire

Chris Butler <chrisb@debian.org>
   xinv3d

Chris Halls <halls@debian.org>
   myspell (U)
   python-ooolib (U)

Chris Hanson <cph@debian.org>
   libapache2-mod-lisp

Christian Bayle <bayle@debian.org>
   gatos
   libibtk

Christoph Egger <christoph@debian.org>
   cl-irc (U)

Christopher James Halse Rogers <raof@ubuntu.com>
   gtk-nodoka-engine

Craig Small <csmall@debian.org>
   lprng-doc

Cyril Lacoux (Yack) <clacoux@easter-eggs.com>
   digitools

Dale E. Martin <dale@the-martins.org>
   pccts

Dave Holland <dave@debian.org>
   floatbg

David Banks <amoebae@gmail.com>
   sisc

David Nusinow <dnusinow@debian.org>
   discover (U)

David Symons <david.symons@liberatedcomputing.net>
   plait

Debian CLI Applications Team <pkg-cli-apps-team@lists.alioth.debian.org>
   graphmonkey

Debian CLI Libraries Team <pkg-cli-libs-team@lists.alioth.debian.org>
   log4net

Debian Common Lisp Team <debian-common-lisp@lists.debian.org>
   cl-irc
   cl-pg

Debian Games Team <pkg-games-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
   geki3
   hawknl
   pixbros
   plib-doc (U)
   spacearyarya

Debian Install System Team <debian-boot@lists.debian.org>
   discover

Debian LibreOffice Maintainers <debian-openoffice@lists.debian.org>
   mythes

Debian LibreOffice Team <debian-openoffice@lists.debian.org>
   python-ooolib

Debian OCaml Maintainers <debian-ocaml-maint@lists.debian.org>
   pagodacf

Debian OpenOffice Team <debian-openoffice@lists.debian.org>
   myspell

Debian QA Group <packages@qa.debian.org>
   abicheck
   apsfilter
   cfingerd
   cldump
   convlit
   crip
   dbmix
   docbook-simple
   doschk
   efax
   esekeyd
   fbpager
   gaim-themes
   galib
   glbsp
   hashcash
   iog
   libapache-mod-encoding
   libapache2-mod-encoding
   mp3rename
   ncdt
   osdclock
   partimage-doc
   playmidi
   poppassd
   pppconfig
   quickml
   scribus-template
   sendfile
   sgml-base-doc
   snmptrapfmt
   sntop
   stfl
   stymulator
   swish++
   tegaki-zinnia-simplified-chinese
   tmexpand
   xfonts-bolkhov
   xgammon
   xstarfish

Debian S/390 Team <debian-s390@lists.debian.org>
   sysconfig

Debian VDR Team <pkg-vdr-dvb-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
   libmdsp

Debian VoIP team <pkg-voip-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
   asterisk-prompt-fr-armelle
   asterisk-prompt-fr-proformatique

Debian X Strike Force <debian-x@lists.debian.org>
   xfonts-100dpi
   xfonts-75dpi
   xfonts-base
   xfonts-cyrillic

Deepak Tripathi <apenguinlinux@gmail.com>
   libperlmenu-perl

Diego Fernández Durán <diego@goedi.net>
   fdflush

Djihed Afifi <djihed@gmail.com>
   tclgeoip

Dmitry E. Oboukhov <unera@debian.org>
   iat
   mhddfs

Don Armstrong <don@debian.org>
   libhtml-element-extended-perl
   libimage-base-bundle-perl
   libpoe-component-client-ident-perl

Drake Diedrich <dld@debian.org>
   empire-lafe

Dylan R. E. Moonfire <debian@mfgames.com>
   log4net (U)

Emmanuel QUEMENER <emmanuel.quemener@free.fr>
   mbw

Eric Madesclair <eric-m@wanadoo.fr>
   le-dico-de-rene-cougnenc

Eric Sharkey <sharkey@debian.org>
   macutils

Erik Schanze <eriks@debian.org>
   imgvtopgm

Erik Vetters <evetters@gmail.com>
   libxml-rss-feed-perl

Erinn Clark <erinn@double-helix.org>
   icheck

Eugene Krivdyuk <ekrivdyuk@gmail.com>
   liblogfile-rotate-perl

Evgeni Golov <evgeni@debian.org>
   v86d

Fabio M. Di Nitto <fabbione@fabbione.net>
   libapache-mod-auth-radius (U)

Felipe Augusto van de Wiel (faw) <faw@debian.org>
   freetable
   linklint
   xless

Florian Hinzmann <fh@debian.org>
   libxml-dumper-perl

Francesco Paolo Lovergine <frankie@debian.org>
   iitalian

Frederic Peters <fpeters@debian.org>
   lasso

Fredrik Hallenberg <hallon@debian.org>
   asmixer

Georges Khaznadar <georgesk@debian.org>
   tix

Giacomo Catenazzi <cate@debian.org>
   spell

Giuseppe Iuculano <giuseppe@iuculano.it>
   razor

Gleydson Mazioli da Silva <gleydson@debian.org>
   focalinux

Goswin von Brederlow <goswin-v-b@web.de>
   ifstat

Guido Guenther <agx@sigxcpu.org>
   nss-updatedb

Guus Sliepen <guus@debian.org>
   dhis-server

Hai Zaar <haizaar@haizaar.com>
   libapache2-mod-authnz-external
   libapache2-mod-authz-unixgroup

Hakan Ardo <hakan@debian.org>
   ftpwatch
   libcompface

Hector Garcia <hector@debian.org>
   perforate (U)

Helen Faulkner <helen@debian.org>
   xwrits

Hilko Bengen <bengen@debian.org>
   libsendmail-pmilter-perl

Iain Lane <laney@debian.org>
   graphmonkey (U)

Ian Beckwith <ianb@debian.org>
   gnuit

Ian Jackson <ijackson@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
   authbind
   vtwm

Igor Stroh <jenner@debian.org>
   ldap2dns

Ikuya Awashiro <ikuya@oooug.jp>
   scim-canna
   scim-skk

Isaac Jones <ijones@debian.org>
   hugs98

ISHIKAWA Mutsumi <ishikawa@debian.org>
   konfont

James Bromberger <jeb@debian.org>
   libdigest-whirlpool-perl
   libwww-indexparser-perl

James Damour (Suvarov454) <suvarov454@users.sourceforge.net>
   filler

Jan Lübbe <jluebbe@debian.org>
   iec16022

Jason Thomas <jason@debian.org>
   libcgi-ssi-parser-perl

Javier Fernandez-Sanguino Pen~a <jfs@computer.org>
   binstats
   iisemulator
   portreserve
   remem
   sac
   vrrpd

Javier Fernandez-Sanguino Pen~a <jfs@debian.org>
   chrootuid
   net-telnet-cisco

Javier Fernández-Sanguino Peña <jfs@computer.org>
   checksecurity

Javier Fernández-Sanguino Peña <jfs@debian.org>
   dns-browse
   farpd
   manpages-es-extra
   oinkmaster

Jelle de Jong <jelledejong@powercraft.nl>
   pct-scanner-scripts

Jelmer Vernooij <jelmer@debian.org>
   bitlbee (U)

Joachim Breitner <nomeata@debian.org>
   pidgin-blinklight

Joerg Jaspert <joerg@debian.org>
   gkrellm-reminder
   xbindkeys-config

Joey Schulze <joey@debian.org>
   dhcpdump
   xxgdb

Johan Henriksson <mahogny@areta.org>
   mathtex

John Goerzen <jgoerzen@complete.org>
   datapacker
   gopher
   netmaze

John Paul Adrian Glaubitz <glaubitz@physik.fu-berlin.de>
   mac-fdisk

John Steele Scott <toojays@toojays.net>
   openoffice.org-en-au

Jonas Genannt <jonas.genannt@capi2name.de>
   libjavascript-rpc-perl

Jonas Meurer <mejo@debian.org>
   mimelib1
   tidy-proxy

Jonathan McDowell <noodles@earth.li>
   htag (U)

Jorge Salamero Sanz <bencer@cauterized.net>
   mppenc

Jose Antonio Quevedo Muñoz <joseantonio.quevedo@gmail.com>
   ssed

Jose Luis Tallon <jltallon@adv-solutions.net>
   couriergraph

Jose Parrella <bureado@debian.org>
   itop
   libalgorithm-checkdigits-perl
   libbiblio-isis-perl
   libclass-csv-perl
   libdebian-package-html-perl

Josip Rodin <joy-packages@debian.org>
   gbase
   gtkpool
   leave
   libapache-mod-auth-radius
   xvier

Jotam Jr. Trejo <jotamjr@debian.org.sv>
   sjeng
   webmagick

Juan Angulo Moreno <juan@apuntale.com>
   vsdump

Juan Esteban Monsalve Tobon <esteban@v7w.com>
   libjama
   liblip
   libranlip

Julian Andres Klode <jak@debian.org>
   metatheme-gilouche

Julien Danjou <acid@debian.org>
   libapache2-mod-defensible
   tetrinetx

Junichi Uekawa <dancer@debian.org>
   binfmtc
   dsh

Jörgen Hägg <jh@debian.org>
   libexpect-perl

Kees Cook <kees@debian.org>
   sendpage

Kevin M. Rosenberg <kmr@debian.org>
   cl-getopt
   cl-irc-logger
   cl-lml
   cl-lml2
   cl-modlisp
   cl-photo
   cl-pipes
   cl-pubmed
   cl-xlunit
   cl-xptest

Kevin Zambrano <kevinjzc@gmail.com>
   falselogin

Krzysztof Burghardt <krzysztof@burghardt.pl>
   poco-doc

Kurt B. Kaiser <kbk@shore.net>
   flexbackup

LaMont Jones <lamont@debian.org>
   hpsockd
   xdelta

Lars Bahner <bahner@debian.org>
   cryptcat
   xcal

Laszlo Boszormenyi (GCS) <gcs@debian.hu>
   sidplay

LENART Janos <ocsi@debian.org>
   setcd
   socket

LI Daobing <lidaobing@debian.org>
   tegaki-zinnia-japanese

Lionel Elie Mamane <lmamane@debian.org>
   asterisk-prompt-fr-armelle (U)
   asterisk-prompt-fr-proformatique (U)

Lior Kaplan <kaplan@debian.org>
   efax-gtk
   myspell-fa
   myspell-hy (U)

Ludovic Drolez <ldrolez@debian.org>
   atftp
   libio-dirent-perl
   swish-e
   weex

Luis Uribe <acme@eviled.org>
   ipkungfu

Luke Cycon <lcycon@gmail.com>
   keytouch-editor

Margarita Manterola <marga@debian.org>
   uisp

Mario Lang <mlang@debian.org>
   midge

Mark Brown <broonie@debian.org>
   ftnchek
   mm
   xemacs21-packages
   zlib

Martin Braure de Calignon <braurede@free.fr>
   lostirc

Martin Meredith <mez@debian.org>
   w3cam

Martin Peylo <debian@izac.de>
   netsend

Martin Schulze <joey@debian.org>
   cgilib
   gerstensaft
   mailto

Martin Wuertele <maxx@debian.org>
   bopm
   gkrellm-x86info
   ibam

Martin Zobel-Helas <zobel@debian.org>
   pfqueue

Marvin Stark <marv@der-marv.de>
   syrep

Masayuki Hatta (mhatta) <mhatta@debian.org>
   elscreen

Mateusz Skowronski <skowri@gmail.com>
   openoffice.org-hyphenation-pl
   openoffice.org-thesaurus-pl

Matt Kraai <kraai@debian.org>
   markdown

Matt Palmer <mpalmer@debian.org>
   dns323-firmware-tools

Matt Taggart <taggart@debian.org>
   spew

Matthew Grant <matthewgrant5@gmail.com>
   nomarch

Matthew Johnson <mjj29@debian.org>
   nxcl

Matthew Palmer <mpalmer@debian.org>
   ninvaders

Matthew Vernon <matthew@debian.org>
   electric-fence

Matthias Julius <mdeb@julius-net.net>
   dnshistory

Matthias Schmitz <matthias@sigxcpu.org>
   liblog-dispatch-filerotate-perl

Mattia Dongili <malattia@debian.org>
   cpufreqd

Mattias Nordstrom <mnordstr@debian.org>
   dbench
   libnzb

Micah Anderson <micah@debian.org>
   libapache-mod-removeip (U)

Michael Ablassmeier <abi@debian.org>
   libaudio-scrobbler-perl
   libemail-foldertype-perl
   libmp4-info-perl

Michael Meskes <meskes@debian.org>
   ips

Michael Piefel <piefel@debian.org>
   hexxagon

Michael Tautschnig <mt@debian.org>
   boolector

Mike Markley <mike@markley.org>
   gkrellm-leds

Miriam Ruiz <little_miry@yahoo.es>
   pixbros (U)

Miroslav Kure <kurem@debian.cz>
   aspell-cs

MJ Ray (Debian) <mjr@debian.org>
   gnuit (U)

Mod_removeip Packaging Group <mod_removeip@lists.riseup.net>
   libapache-mod-removeip

Murat Demirten <murat@debian.org>
   manpages-tr

Nathan Scott <nathans@debian.org>
   libxml-tokeparser-perl
   xfsdump

Nicolas Vion <nico@yojik.eu>
   swac-get

Noel David Torres Taño <envite@rolamasao.org>
   wmaker-data

NOKUBI Takatsugu <knok@daionet.gr.jp>
   libtext-kakasi-perl

Norbert Veber <nveber@debian.org>
   rig

Noël Köthe <noel@debian.org>
   drac

Ola Lundqvist <opal@debian.org>
   icmpush
   jpeginfo

Ondřej Surý <ondrej@debian.org>
   aspell-cs (U)

Patrick Gansterer <paroga@paroga.com>
   poco-doc (U)

Patrick Ouellette <pouelle@debian.org>
   opt

Patrick Schoenfeld <schoenfeld@debian.org>
   dnsproxy

Paul Brossier <piem@debian.org>
   chuck

paul cannon <pik@debian.org>
   gkrellkam

Paul Slootman <paul@debian.org>
   libident
   pixmap
   tmpreaper

Paweł Więcek <coven@debian.org>
   pgpgpg

Peter De Schrijver (p2) <p2@debian.org>
   libgcr410

Peter Karlsson <peterk@debian.org>
   multimail

Peter S Galbraith <psg@debian.org>
   g3data
   imgsizer
   mh-book
   poster
   proj-ps-doc
   tcd-utils
   xcolmix
   xplot
   xtide
   xtide-coastline
   xtide-data
   xwatch

Peter Van Eynde <pvaneynd@debian.org>
   cl-irc (U)
   cl-pg (U)

Petter Reinholdtsen <pere@debian.org>
   discover (U)

Philippe Coval <rzr@gna.org>
   atitvout

Popularity Contest Developers <debian-popcon@lists.debian.org>
   popularity-contest

Prabhu Ramachandran <prabhu@aero.iitb.ac.in>
   ygl

Radovan Garabík <garabik@kassiopeia.juls.savba.sk>
   efingerd
   mountpy

Radu Spineanu <radu@debian.org>
   libropkg-perl

Ramakrishnan Muthukrishnan <rkrishnan@debian.org>
   ygl (U)

Rene Engelhard <rene@debian.org>
   multitail
   muttprint
   myspell (U)
   mythes (U)
   python-ooolib (U)
   qmc
   txt2regex
   writerperfect

Rene Weber <rene_debmaint@public.e-mail.elvenlord.com>
   libimage-metadata-jpeg-perl
   mapivi
   parchive
   scanssh

Ricardo Mones <mones@debian.org>
   gkrellm-reminder (U)

Riku Voipio <riku.voipio@iki.fi>
   sbrsh

Robert Collins <robertc@robertcollins.net>
   fl-cow

Robert S. Edmonds <edmonds@debian.org>
   clamassassin
   pcaputils
   wrapsrv

Rod Whitby <rod@whitby.id.au>
   devio

Roderick Schertler <roderick@argon.org>
   makepatch

Runa Sandvik <runa.sandvik@gmail.com>
   tagcloud

Russell Coker <russell@coker.com.au>
   bonnie++
   logtools
   memlockd
   postal
   sredird

Ryan Niebur <ryanryan52@gmail.com>
   grabc

Sam Hocevar (Debian packages) <sam+deb@zoy.org>
   apwal
   beav
   ez-ipupdate
   geki3 (U)
   ipfm
   spacearyarya (U)

Sam Hocevar <sho@debian.org>
   clif

Samuel Mimram <smimram@debian.org>
   pagodacf (U)

Sarah Connor <sarah.connor.uk@googlemail.com>
   libclass-pluggable-perl

Sebastian Dröge <slomo@debian.org>
   log4net (U)

Shachar Shemesh <shachar@debian.org>
   privbind

Simon Huggins <huggie@earth.li>
   htag

Simon Kelley <simon@thekelleys.org.uk>
   brag
   dhcp-helper

Sjoerd Simons <sjoerd@debian.org>
   gkrellm-mailwatch
   gkrellm-radio
   gkrellmwireless

Stefan Pfetzing <dreamind@dreamind.de>
   desklaunch
   deskmenu
   keylaunch
   oroborus

Steinar H. Gunderson <sesse@debian.org>
   pkgsync

Stephen Gran <sgran@debian.org>
   randomsound

Steve Greenland <stevegr@debian.org>
   jargon

Steve Kemp <skx@debian.org>
   asql

Steve McIntyre <93sam@debian.org>
   netpbm-free (U)

Sven Mueller <sven@debian.org>
   nslint

Taku YASUI <tach@debian.or.jp>
   libapache2-mod-encoding (U)

TAKU Yasui <tach@debian.or.jp>
   libapache-mod-encoding (U)

Thierry Randrianiriana <randrianiriana@gmail.com>
   xdiskusage

Thomas Goirand <zigo@debian.org>
   libjs-edit-area

Thomas Schmidt <tschmidt@debian.org>
   libmdsp (U)

Tim Retout <diocles@debian.org>
   gnu-standards

Tobias Grimm <etobi@debian.org>
   libmdsp (U)

Toby Smithe <tsmithe@ubuntu.com>
   fluid-soundfont

Tomas Pospisek <tpo_deb@sourcepole.ch>
   mailsync

tony mancill <tmancill@debian.org>
   liblogfile-rotate-perl (U)
   xsysinfo

TSUCHIYA Masatoshi <tsuchiya@namazu.org>
   jtex-base

Ulises Vitulli <uvitulli@fi.uba.ar>
   libpam-blue

Uwe Steinmann <steinm@debian.org>
   sgrep

Varun Hiremath <varun@debian.org>
   xpuzzles

Vern Sun <s5unty@gmail.com>
   cconv

Vincent Bernat <bernat@debian.org>
   libwhisker2-perl

Vincent Bernat <bernat@luffy.cx>
   labrea

Wartan Hachaturow <wart@debian.org>
   grpn

William Vera <billy@billy.com.mx>
   vamps

Wilmer van der Gaast <wilmer@gaast.net>
   bitlbee

Xavier Lüthi <xluthi@debian.org>
   nrg2iso

Yann Dirson <dirson@debian.org>
   deps
   ftjam
   leaktracer
   memtest86
   memtest86+
   sgml2x

Yaroslav Halchenko <debian@onerussian.com>
   gkrelltop (U)
   impose+

Yukiharu YABUKI <yyabuki@debian.org>
   scim-canna (U)
   scim-skk (U)


Reply to: