[Date Prev][Date Next] [Thread Prev][Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

Debian French localisation team completes the translation of debconf screens

(crossposted to several mailing lists. Please respect the Reply-To field)

As of March 3rd 2007, all packages in Debian unstable that have
translatable debconf templates are translated into French [1].

This is the result of a continuous effort in the last years and
particularly the last 4.5 years, since the upload of po-debconf back
in September 2002 by Denis Barbier which enabled translators to use
gettext to handle debconf translations.

This achievement, combined with the translation of the Debian
Installer, is the guarantee that even a complete installation of a
Debian system with all possible packages, when run in French, will
only show French-speaking prompts to the user.

That effort is also ongoing for several other languages [2], thanks to
the commitment of the numerous contributors from the Debian
internationalisation community [3].

All thanks and credits for the achievement of the French localisation
are due to the French translators [5] as well as all Debian package
maintainers who have regularly fixed the dozens of bug reports sent
by translators over the years.

A last effort will now target the 100% mark for packages in
testing. The current status, as of [4], is 99.2%.

[1] http://www.debian.org/intl/l10n/po-debconf/fr
[2] http://www.debian.org/intl/l10n/po-debconf/rank
[3] http://lists.debian.org/debian-i18n/
[4] http://alioth.debian.org/~thuriaux-guest/tmp/testing.stats
[5] Contributors of the French translations:

Adam Cécile (Le_Vert) 
Alexis Sukrieh  
Aurelien Jarno  
Aurelien Ricard  
BUIRA Etienne  
Cédric Favry  
Christian Perrier 
Christophe lincoln  
Christophe Masson  
Clément Stenac  
Cyril Brulebois 
Cyril Martin 
Daniel Déchelotte  
DELACOUR Guillaume  
Denis Barbier  
Emmanuel le Chevoir 
Eric Madesclair 
Florentin Duneau  
Florent Usseil  
Frédéric Bothamy  
Frédéric Schütz  
Frédéric Zulian  
Gabriel Laurent  
Gaetan CRAHAY  
Gregory Colpart  
Guilhelm Panaget  
Guillaume Nault  
Ivan Buresi  
Jean-Baka Domelevo-Entfellner  
Jean-Christophe Champarnaud  
Jean-Christophe Dubacq  
Jean-Luc Coulon  
Jean-Marc Chaton  
Jérémie Corbier  
Jose Luis Tallon 
Julien Louis  
Julien Rosal  
Julien Valroff  
Laurence Colombet  
Laurent Pelecq  
Le Mignant pierre 
Ludovic Drolez  
Ludovic Rousseau  
Marco Presi  
Martin Quinson  
Michel Grentzinger  
Mohammed Adnène Trojette 
Nicolas Bertolissio  
Olivier Gauwin  
Olivier Trichet  
Philippe Batailler  
Pierre Machard  
Rémi Pannequin  
Séverine lombardo  
Simon Paillard  
Steve Langasek  
Steve Petruzzello  
Sylvain Archenault  
Sylvain LE GALL 
Thomas Capacci  
Thomas Huriaux  
Thomas Morin  
Thomas Viehmann  
Valéry Perrin  
Xavier Luthi  
Yannick Roehlly  
Yves Rütschlé  

Special credit to Steve Langasek who corrected this announcement


Attachment: signature.asc
Description: Digital signature

Reply to: