[Date Prev][Date Next] [Thread Prev][Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

use of "invoke-rc.d $PACKAGE stop || exit $?" in prerm scripts



Hello,

this issue has been discussed some time ago:

  http://lists.debian.org/debian-devel/2004/08/msg00299.html
  http://lists.debian.org/debian-devel/2004/08/msg00298.html

I would like to hear your current opinion about this topic. IMHO
removing a package should "just work" and currently this doesn't
always.

Details: several packages use something like:

# Automatically added by dh_installinit
if [ -x "/etc/init.d/$PACKAGE" ]; then
        if [ -x "`which invoke-rc.d 2>/dev/null`" ]; then
                invoke-rc.d $PACKAGE stop || exit $?
        else
                /etc/init.d/$PACKAGE stop || exit $?
        fi
fi

inside their prerm maintainer scripts. If stopping $PACKAGE through
invoke-rc.d/init-script fails, removing the package fails as well.

Using:

  invoke-rc.d $PACKAGE stop || true
  /etc/init.d/$PACKAGE stop || true

would be a replacement already used in some packages like for
example at, binfmt-support, dnsmasq, drbd0.7-utils, freeradius, hal,
scanlogd, sl-modem-daemon, snort.

I scanned through a pool of about 2400 packages and found the
following packages using the "stop || exit $?" construct:

915resolution:         Steffen Joeris <steffen.joeris@skolelinux.de>
apcupsd:               Samuele Giovanni Tonon <samu@debian.org>
atop:                  Edelhard Becker <edelhard@debian.org>
bacula-fd:             John Goerzen <jgoerzen@complete.org>
brltty:                Mario Lang <mlang@debian.org>
cfengine2:             Andrew Stribblehill <ads@debian.org>
clamav-daemon:         Stephen Gran <sgran@debian.org>
ddclient:              Torsten Landschoff <torsten@debian.org>
dirmngr:               Peter Eisentraut <petere@debian.org>
fnfxd:                 Agney Lopes Roth Ferraz <agney@debian.org>
fwlogwatch:            Alberto Gonzalez Iniesta <agi@inittab.org>
gsm-utils:             Mark Purcell <msp@debian.org>
hddtemp:               Aurelien Jarno <aurel32@debian.org>
icecast2:              Debian Icecast team <pkg-icecast-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
ifplugd:               Oliver Kurth <oku@debian.org>
installation-report:   Debian Install System Team <debian-boot@lists.debian.org>
laptop-mode-tools:     Bart Samwel <bart@samwel.tk>
libdevmapper1.02:      Debian LVM Team <pkg-lvm-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
lighttpd:              Debian lighttpd maintainers <pkg-lighttpd-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
makedev:               Bdale Garbee <bdale@gag.com>
netperf:               Erik Wenzel <erik@debian.org>
nscd:                  GNU Libc Maintainers <debian-glibc@lists.debian.org>
openafs-client:        Sam Hartman <hartmans@debian.org>
pcscd:                 Ludovic Rousseau <rousseau@debian.org>
pdns-backend-ldap:     Debian PowerDNS Maintainers <powerdns-debian@workaround.org>
pdns-backend-pgsql:    Debian PowerDNS Maintainers <powerdns-debian@workaround.org>
pdns-backend-sqlite:   Debian PowerDNS Maintainers <powerdns-debian@workaround.org>
pdns-recursor:         Debian PowerDNS Maintainers <powerdns-debian@workaround.org>
plptools:              John Lines <john@paladin.demon.co.uk>
postgresql-7.4:        Martin Pitt <mpitt@debian.org>
preload:               Kari Pahula <kaol@iki.fi>
procps:                Craig Small <csmall@debian.org>
quota:                 Michael Meskes <meskes@debian.org>
racoon:                Ganesan Rajagopal <rganesan@debian.org>
samba:                 Eloy A. Paris <peloy@debian.org>
sensord:               Aurelien Jarno <aurel32@debian.org>
slapd:                 Debian OpenLDAP Maintainers <pkg-openldap-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
sleepd:                Joey Hess <joeyh@debian.org>
smartmontools:         Guido Guenther <agx@sigxcpu.org>
smokeping:             Jose Carlos Garcia Sogo <jsogo@debian.org>
spamassassin:          Duncan Findlay <duncf@debian.org>
sqlrelay:              Matthias Klose <doko@debian.org>
sudo:                  Bdale Garbee <bdale@gag.com>
sysfsutils:            Martin Pitt <mpitt@debian.org>
x11-common:            Debian X Strike Force <debian-x@lists.debian.org>
xfs:                   Debian X Strike Force <debian-x@lists.debian.org>
xinetd:                Thomas Seyrat <tomasera@debian.org>

regards,
-mika-

Attachment: pgpVXNemykYaQ.pgp
Description: PGP signature


Reply to: