[Date Prev][Date Next] [Thread Prev][Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

Re: Read-only /usr



On Thu, Nov 08, 2001 at 12:18:54AM +0100, Bernd Eckenfels wrote:
> On Wed, Nov 07, 2001 at 11:22:34AM +0100, Martin Waitz wrote:
> > isn't this a filesystem bug?
> Closing a delted file means freeing blocks and this means writing to disk.
> So you cant remount ro as long as a file which is deleted is open. Same is
> true as long as you have a file opened for read.

You could, of course, change your filesystem so that it'd have a separate
"soon-to-be-deleted" table on the disk, which needn't be empty for the
fs to be mounted read-only; with the behaviour that if an open file has
its last link removed it gets added to the soon-to-be-deleted table,
and when the filesystem is mounted read-write, the table is scanned for
files that aren't currently open and thus can be deleted. It'd be a bit
strange for "mount -o remount,rw /foo" to suddenly start deleting stuff
off your disk, though.

Cheers,
aj

-- 
Anthony Towns <aj@humbug.org.au> <http://azure.humbug.org.au/~aj/>
I don't speak for anyone save myself. GPG signed mail preferred.

 "Security here. Yes, maam. Yes. Groucho glasses. Yes, we're on it.
   C'mon, guys. Somebody gave an aardvark a nose-cut: somebody who
    can't deal with deconstructionist humor. Code Blue."
		-- Mike Hoye,
		      see http://azure.humbug.org.au/~aj/armadillos.txt

Attachment: pgpWvrLOzoj3h.pgp
Description: PGP signature


Reply to: