[Date Prev][Date Next] [Thread Prev][Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

Re: Packages vs. files on mirrors

On 1998/08/20, Remco Blaakmeer wrote:

> > +0200 is 2 hours more than UTC.  This fall after the time change (if your
> > timezone honors daylight savings time) it'll be +0100.
> Yeah, sure. But that's my own timezone, right? I am not in CST, so I'd
> like to know the difference between CST and UTC when someone tells me
> something is going to happen at 1:30pm CST. Is there a program in Debian
> that can give me that information?

$ date -d '1:30 pm CDT'
Thu Aug 20 20:30:00 CEST 1998
$ TZ=UTC date -d '1:30 pm CDT'
Thu Aug 20 18:30:00 UTC 1998

But I agree that an announcement should be given in UTC.


Ruud de Rooij.
Ruud de Rooij

Reply to: