[Date Prev][Date Next] [Thread Prev][Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

Return of unversioned boost -dev packages (boost-defaults)



Hello,

I'm pleased to announce the upload of boost-defaults, a new package
that supplies unversioned -dev packages for Boost (libboost-dev, etc.)
that simply depend on the current "default" Boost version (today, it
is Boost 1.38.0).

This means that libboost-dev and friends have effectively been
upgraded from Boost 1.34.1 (nearly 2 years old) to 1.38.0.
Maintainers of a package using these unversioned -dev packages (see
below) are advised to check whether their package continues to build
with 1.38 now.  If not, it would be great to upload a fix.  The
release team has indicated that bin-NMUs will be scheduled later on,
but would appreciate if maintainers take this opportunity to check for
failures and fix them ahead of the bin-NMUs.

Some packages have switched to a newer Boost version, and thus had to
use a versioned -dev package such as libboost1.37-dev.  If you believe
the code isn't sensitive to the Boost version, you could now switch
back to using unversioned -dev packages.



Some Details
------------

In February, we (the Debian Boost packaging team) sent an email [1] to
maintainers of affected packages that boost 1.34.1 would be removed
from the archive and, with it, the unversioned -dev packages for
Boost.  Starting with Boost 1.35, all the -dev package names include
the Boost version; e.g. libboost-python1.35-dev, etc.

One common reaction to this from maintainers of packages
build-depending on Boost was a request to retain the unversioned -dev
package names.  At the time, I didn't know how to achieve that
together with our other goals; fortunately, Adeodato Simó was able to
explain it to me (see threads [2,3,4]).  The result is a new package,
boost-defaults, that supplies the unversioned -dev packages but which
now depend on Boost 1.38 rather than the previous 1.34.1.

Regards,
-Steve

[1] http://lists.alioth.debian.org/pipermail/pkg-boost-devel/2009-February/001773.html
[2] http://lists.debian.org/debian-release/2009/03/msg00147.html
[3] http://lists.debian.org/debian-release/2009/04/msg00251.html
[4] http://lists.debian.org/debian-release/2009/05/msg00011.html


List of packages currently using unversioned -dev packages
----------------------------------------------------------

(The package addresses are Bcc'd in this message)

Daniel Leidert (dale) <daniel.leidert@wgdd.de>
   avogadro (U)
   openbabel (U)

Guenter Geiger (Debian/GNU) <geiger@debian.org>
   ardour (U)

Felipe Augusto van de Wiel (faw) <faw@debian.org>
   mypasswordsafe

Tim Abbott <tabbott@mit.edu>
   polybori

Michael Banck <mbanck@debian.org>
   avogadro (U)
   openbabel (U)
   referencer
   schroot (U)

Daniel Baumann <daniel@debian.org>
   vmware-view-open-client

Florent Bayle <fbayle@bigfoot.com>
   hugin (U)

Dominique Belhachemi <domibel@cs.tu-berlin.de>
   sofa-framework (U)

Armin Berres <trigger+debian@space-based.de>
   kdebase-workspace (U)
   kdeedu (U)
   kdenetwork (U)
   kdepim (U)
   kdepimlibs (U)
   kdeplasma-addons (U)
   kdesdk (U)

Eduard Bloch <blade@debian.org>
   encfs

Raphael Bossek <bossekr@debian.org>
   xsd

Gonéri Le Bouder <goneri@rulezlan.org>
   vegastrike (U)

Fathi Boudra <fabo@debian.org>
   akonadi (U)
   kdebase-workspace (U)
   kdeedu (U)
   kdenetwork (U)
   kdepim (U)
   kdepimlibs (U)
   kdeplasma-addons (U)
   kdesdk (U)

Ludovic Brenta <lbrenta@debian.org>
   monotone (U)

Cyril Brulebois <kibi@debian.org>
   hugin (U)
   luxrender
   pingus (U)

Luca Bruno <lucab@debian.org>
   nemiver

Richard Antony Burton <richardaburton@gmail.com>
   kicad (U)

Ben Burton <bab@debian.org>
   regina-normal

Ross Burton <ross@debian.org>
   exmap (U)

Luk Claes <luk@debian.org>
   schroot (U)

Andrea Corradi <lash@unstable.it>
   nemiver (U)

LI Daobing <lidaobing@gmail.com>
   openbabel (U)

Debian buildd-tools Developers <buildd-tools-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
   schroot

Debian Games Team <pkg-games-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
   asc
   bulletml
   lordsawar
   love
   performous
   pingus
   ultrastar-ng
   vegastrike

Debian GIS Project <pkg-grass-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
   gpsdrive

Debian KDE Extras Team <pkg-kde-extras@lists.alioth.debian.org>
   ktorrent

Debian LyX Maintainers <pkg-lyx-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
   lyx

Debian Multimedia Team <debian-multimedia@lists.debian.org>
   ardour

Debian PhotoTools Maintainers <pkg-phototools-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
   enblend-enfuse
   hugin

Debian Python Modules Team <python-modules-team@lists.alioth.debian.org>
   pythonmagick

Debian Qt/KDE Maintainers <debian-qt-kde@lists.debian.org>
   akonadi
   kdebase-workspace
   kdeedu
   kdenetwork
   kdepim
   kdepimlibs
   kdeplasma-addons
   kdesdk
   kdewebdev

Debian VDR Team <pkg-vdr-dvb-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
   vdr-plugin-live

Debian VoIP Team <pkg-voip-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
   mumble
   twinkle

Debian-Med Packaging Team <debian-med-packaging@lists.alioth.debian.org>
   sofa-framework

Debichem Team <debichem-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
   avogadro
   openbabel

Barry deFreese <bddebian@comcast.net>
   asc (U)

Barry deFreese <bdefreese@debian.org>
   lordsawar (U)

CĂ©dric Delfosse <cedric@debian.org>
   stellarium

Alexander Dreyer <adreyer@gmx.de>
   polybori (U)

Dirk Eddelbuettel <edd@debian.org>
   quantlib
   quantlib-swig
   rquantlib

Free Ekanayaka <freee@debian.org>
   ardour (U)

Bartosz Fenski <fenio@debian.org>
   asc (U)

Vincent Fourmond <fourmond@debian.org>
   vegastrike (U)

Vedran Furač <vedranf@riteh.hr>
   bfilter

Carl FĂŒrstenberg <azatoth@gmail.com>
   pythonmagick (U)

Bdale Garbee <bdale@gag.com>
   gnuradio

Tobias Grimm <tg@e-tobi.net>
   vdr-plugin-live (U)

Debian QA Group <packages@qa.debian.org>
   anymeal
   d4x
   licq
   sfftobmp
   sffview
   soci

Thomas GĂŒnther <tom@toms-cafe.de>
   vdr-plugin-live (U)

Christoph Haas <haas@debian.org>
   pdns (U)
   pdns-recursor (U)

Yaroslav Halchenko <debian@onerussian.com>
   fslview (U)

Michael Hanke <michael.hanke@gmail.com>
   fsl
   fslview

Sebastian Harl <sh@tokkee.org>
   enblend-enfuse (U)

Varun Hiremath <varun@debian.org>
   agave
   pdfedit

Sven Hoexter <sven@timegate.de>
   lyx (U)

Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
   dvswitch

Michael Janssen <jamuraa@debian.org>
   player

Aurelien Jarno <aurel32@debian.org>
   libftdi

Steffen Joeris <white@debian.org>
   dc-qt

Thomas Jollans <thomas@jollans.com>
   xmms2 (U)

Robert Jordens <jordens@debian.org>
   ardour (U)

Julien Jorge <julien_jorge@yahoo.fr>
   plee-the-bear

Muammar El Khatib <muammarelkhatib@gmail.com>
   cegui-mk2

Kilian Krause <kilian@debian.org>
   twinkle (U)

Chris Lamb <lamby@debian.org>
   geordi

Jonne Lehtinen <jms@modeemi.fi>
   xmms2 (U)

Roger Leigh <rleigh@debian.org>
   schroot (U)

Robert Lemmen <robertle@semistable.com>
   noiz2sa

Richard Levitte <richard@levitte.org>
   monotone (U)

Arthur Loiret <aloiret@debian.org>
   luabind

Ana Beatriz Guerrero Lopez <ana@debian.org>
   akonadi (U)
   kdebase-workspace (U)
   kdeedu (U)
   kdenetwork (U)
   kdepim (U)
   kdepimlibs (U)
   kdeplasma-addons (U)
   kdesdk (U)
   kdewebdev (U)

Francesco Paolo Lovergine <frankie@debian.org>
   schroot (U)

Robert Luberda <robert@debian.org>
   subcommander

Ola Lundqvist <opal@debian.org>
   source-highlight

Mikael Magnusson <mikma@users.sourceforge.net>
   twinkle (U)

Debian PowerDNS Maintainers <powerdns-debian@workaround.org>
   pdns
   pdns-recursor

Jose Luis Blanco (University of Malaga) <joseluisblancoc@gmail.com>
   mrpt

Jordan Mantha <laserjock@ubuntu.com>
   avogadro (U)

Santiago Garcia Mantinan <manty@debian.org>
   twinkle (U)

Patrick MatthÀi <pmatthaei@debian.org>
   mumble (U)

Andres Mejia <mcitadel@gmail.com>
   vegastrike (U)

Andreas Metzler <ametzler@debian.org>
   hugin (U)

Robert Millan <rmh@aybabtu.com>
   gnash (U)

Samuel Mimram <smimram@debian.org>
   exmap

Matthijs Mohlmann <matthijs@cacholong.nl>
   pdns (U)
   pdns-recursor (U)

Debian Maintainers for Monotone <monotone-debian@nongnu.org>
   monotone

David MartĂ­nez Moreno <ender@debian.org>
   aqsis
   glob2
   k3d

Oleksandr Moskalenko <malex@debian.org>
   scribus-ng

Thorvald Natvig <slicer@users.sourceforge.net>
   mumble (U)

Per Olofsson <pelle@debian.org>
   lyx (U)

Sam Hocevar (Debian packages) <sam+deb@zoy.org>
   asc (U)
   openvrml
   vegastrike (U)

David Paleino <d.paleino@gmail.com>
   libopenraw
   pinot

Patrick Patterson <ppatters@debian.org>
   pathfinder

Giorgio Pioda <gfwp@ticino.com>
   peless

Daniel J. Priem <danielpriem@flexserv.de>
   kicad (U)

Mark Purcell <msp@debian.org>
   twinkle (U)

Andreas Putzo <andreas@putzo.net>
   gpsdrive (U)

Wolfram Quester <wolfi@sigxcpu.org>
   inkscape

Martin Quinson <mquinson@debian.org>
   widelands

Florian Ragwitz <rafl@debian.org>
   xmms2

Alexander Reichle-Schmehl <tolimar@debian.org>
   lordsawar (U)

Simon Richter <sjr@debian.org>
   asio
   dammit
   debian-xcontrol

Matthew Rosewarne <mrosewarne@inoutbox.com>
   kdebase-workspace (U)
   kdeedu (U)
   kdenetwork (U)
   kdepim (U)
   kdepimlibs (U)
   kdesdk (U)

Miriam Ruiz <little_miry@yahoo.es>
   bulletml (U)
   gnash
   love (U)
   performous (U)
   pingus (U)
   ultrastar-ng (U)

Alexander Sack <asac@jwsdot.com>
   gnash (U)

Roberto C. Sanchez <roberto@connexer.com>
   luabind (U)

Ritesh Raj Sarraf <rrs@researchut.com>
   fusecompress

Daniel Schepler <schepler@debian.org>
   kdeedu (U)

Alexander Schmehl <tolimar@debian.org>
   asc (U)

Thomas Schmidt <tschmidt@debian.org>
   vdr-plugin-live (U)

Carlo Segre <segre@debian.org>
   objcryst-fox

GĂŒrkan SengĂŒn <gurkan@phys.ethz.ch>
   evolvotron

Jose Carlos Garcia Sogo <jsogo@debian.org>
   barry
   twinkle (U)

Clément Stenac <zorglub@debian.org>
   mkvtoolnix

Jens Taprogge <jlt@taprogge.org>
   xmms2 (U)

Enrico Tassi <gareuselesinge@debian.org>
   widelands (U)

Debian Kicad Team <kicad-devel@lists.mose.flexserv.de>
   kicad

Magnus Therning <magnus@therning.org>
   keysafe

Modestas Vainius <modestas@vainius.eu>
   akonadi (U)
   kdebase-workspace (U)
   kdenetwork (U)
   kdepim (U)
   kdepimlibs (U)
   kdeplasma-addons (U)
   ktorrent (U)

Xavier Vello <xavier.vello@gmail.com>
   kdewebdev (U)

Sune Vuorela <debian@pusling.com>
   akonadi (U)
   kdebase-workspace (U)
   kdeedu (U)
   kdenetwork (U)
   kdepim (U)
   kdepimlibs (U)
   kdeplasma-addons (U)
   kdesdk (U)
   kdewebdev (U)

Peter De Wachter <pdewacht@gmail.com>
   bulletml (U)

Anders Waldenborg <anders@0x63.nu>
   xmms2 (U)

Zack Weinberg <zackw@panix.com>
   monotone (U)

Torsten Werner <twerner@debian.org>
   agave (U)
   libavg
   pdfedit (U)

Bernd Zeimetz <bzed@debian.org>
   pythonmagick (U)

Attachment: signature.asc
Description: Digital signature


Reply to: