[Date Prev][Date Next] [Thread Prev][Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

Release-critical Bugreport for May 10, 1999

Bug stamp-out list for May 10 12:03 (CST)

Total number of release-critical bugs: 112


Package: adduser (main)
Maintainer: Guy Maor <maor@debian.org>
  37069  adduser: Adduser generates gids over 65535

Package: automake (main)
Maintainer: Kevin Dalley <kevind@rahul.net>
  8828   automake can't 'make clean' with depends on generated files

Package: base (pseudo)
Maintainer: Enrique Zanardi <sr1-boot-floppies@debian.org>
  34719  base: /dev/ptmx should not exist unless /dev/pts is properly configured

Package: base-passwd (main)
Maintainer: Galen Hazelwood <galenh@micron.net>
  36007  update-passwd did many stupid things

Package: bash (main)
Maintainer: Guy Maor <maor@debian.org>
  34125  Latest bash breaks mandb
  34138  bash: bug doesn't work anymore
  34717  bash: contains /bin/sh link
  35214  bash: Incorrect 'case' pattern matching when LANG=fr

Package: boot-floppies (main)
Maintainer: Enrique Zanardi <debian-boot@lists.debian.org>
  36875  resc1440tecra.bin does not install tecra kernel
  36947  boot-floppies: base.tgz not found - no error message

Package: cfs (non-US)
Maintainer: Patrick J. Edwards <pje120@mail.usask.ca>
  14321  cfs: cmkdir does not work

Package: cmucl (main)
Maintainer: Peter Van Eynde <pvaneynd@debian.org>
  34554  cmucl doesn't work with glibc 2.1

Package: communicator-smotif-45 (non-free)
Maintainer: Adam Heath <adam.heath@usa.net>
  34806  Communicator 4.5 (Mail) crashes suddenly

Package: cqcam (main)
Maintainer: Martin Schulze <joey@debian.org>
  35391  Please recompile cqcam with GTK+ 1.2

Package: crossfire-server (main)
Maintainer: Darren Benham <gecko@debian.org>
  37203  Misconfigured path for map files??

Package: debiandoc-sgml (main)
Maintainer: Ardo van Rangelrooij <ardo@debian.org>
  37268  content negotiation failing -- 'foo..html'

Package: dfm (contrib)
Maintainer: Michael Bramer <michael@debian.org>
  35394  Please recompile dfm with GTK+ 1.2

Package: diald (main)
Maintainer: Philippe Troin <phil@fifi.org>
  32592  diald: Problems with dynamic addressing and 2.2.1 kernel

Package: dpkg (main)
Maintainer: Ian Jackson and others <dpkg-maint@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
  17624  dpkg: installs regular dir when .deb contains symlink !
  1797   upgrade/downgrade dependency calculation problem
  21182  dpkg: dpkg can go into an infinite loop with --force-configure-any
  28519  dpkg: creates circular symlinks [POSSIBLE WORKAROUND]
  28817  dpkg takes no care over libdpkg
  30090  weirdass dpkg coredumps and xbase upgrade insanity
  33618  dpkg: most recent hamm version, but *multiple* packages insist it be upgraded!
  36385  consensus on stuff left to be fixed in slink
  36431  consensus on stuff left to be fixed in slink
  36972  dpkg: dpkg can remoev vital files/symlinks without warning adminitrator
  37017  dpkg: .deb should contain authentication data
  37254  dpkg: update-alternatives madness
  9771   install-info name conflict

Package: dpkg-dev (main)
Maintainer: Ian Jackson and others <dpkg-maint@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
  25405  xpm: builds libc5 package on powerpc

Package: dpkg-multicd (main)
Maintainer: Martin Schulze <joey@debian.org>
  36948  boot-floppies: no (or bad) check for free disk space

Package: dwww (main)
Maintainer: Jim Pick <jim@jimpick.com>
  37378  dwww: menu-method out of date

Package: e2fsprogs (main)
Maintainer: Yann Dirson <dirson@debian.org>
  35595  e2fsprogs 1.14 (e2fsck) Locks during Boot Process

Package: emacs20 (main)
Maintainer: Rob Browning <rlb@cs.utexas.edu>
  33237  /etc/alternatives/emacs not managed properly - /usr/bin/emacs doesn't run emacs20

Package: expect5.24 (main)
Maintainer: David Engel <david@debian.org>
  34283  expect5.24: alternatives bug on upgrade to slink

Package: fetchmail (main)
Maintainer: Paul Haggart <phaggart@debian.org>
  36677  Package fetchmail_5.0.1-1.dsc not extractable

Package: fileutils (main)
Maintainer: Galen Hazelwood <galenh@micron.net>
  31717  fileutils: 'mv regularfile symlink' problems
  36770  fileutils: install has problems with permissions

Package: fortune-mod (main)
Maintainer: Brian Bassett <brianb@debian.org>
  37091  fortune-mod: open call has hardcoded access mode

Package: ftp.debian.org (pseudo)
Maintainer: Guy Maor <ftpmaster@debian.org>
  33979  ftp.debian.org: ftp.au.debian.org.au: slink currupt packages
  34901  The xmodmap package still exists
  35295  Please install new version of Release-Notes
  36611  The conf package should die
  36978  Please replace netstd_3.07-2.deb in ../deb_files
  36981  Please install new version of README-upgrade

Package: ftpwatch (main)
Maintainer: Hakan Ardo <hakan@debian.org>
  35159  ftpwatch: depends on ncftp

Package: gdb (main)
Maintainer: Vincent Renardias <vincent@waw.com>
  32586  gdb ignores breakpoints
  33868  gdb: Gdb segfaults on loading executable
  36341  gdb: Gives a parse error when casting an expression
  37420  gdb: Breakpoints don't work.

Package: gicon (main)
Maintainer: Martin Schulze <joey@debian.org>
  35912  gicon must be recompiled with GTK+ 1.2

Package: guile1.3 (main)
Maintainer: Craig Brozefsky <craig@red-bean.com>
  34941  Cannot start gnucash

Package: kernel-image-2.0.36 (main)
Maintainer: Herbert Xu <herbert@debian.org>
  34348  Adaptec 294x boot hangs after "419 instructions downloaded"
  37074  Slink boot floppies hang machine after initalizing the Adaptec  AHA2940UW

Package: kernel-image-2.2.1 (main)
Maintainer: Johnie Ingram <johnie@debian.org>
  36230  Compiler failure

Package: latex2html (main)
Maintainer: Manoj Srivastava <srivasta@debian.org>
  35837  TeX dir has changed

Package: libc6 (main)
Maintainer: Joel Klecker <debian-glibc@lists.debian.org>
  33832  libc6: dlopen problem.  causes libraries to get opened about 4x (patch included)
  34953  The elm problem
  35315  libc6: unterminated ttyname breaks screen [fix included]
  36016  I tried a partial upgrade and hosed my system
  36050  Suspect problems in libc6
  36584  nss' compat does not work with shadow nis

Package: libgtk-imlib-perl (main)
Maintainer: Paolo Molaro <lupus@debian.org>
  35918  libgtk-imlib-perl must be recompiled against GTK+ 1.2

Package: libgtk-perl (main)
Maintainer: Paolo Molaro <lupus@debian.org>
  33704  Dependancy on libgtk1.1 is not and cannot be satisfied!

Package: libtool (main)
Maintainer: Ossama Othman <ossama@debian.org>
  37286  Again big-endian trouble with libtool

Package: lintian (main)
Maintainer: Richard Braakman <lintian-maint@debian.org>
  35423  lintian: dies on manpages check (file-info)

Package: lsof (main)
Maintainer: Jim Mintha <jmintha@debian.org>
  31935  lsof: addings for glibc-2.1 and linux-2.2

Package: makedev (main)
Maintainer: Bdale Garbee <bdale@gag.com>
  37204  makedev,sysklogd: /dev/xconsole reveals privileged information to non-root users

Package: man-db (main)
Maintainer: Fabrizio Polacco <fpolacco@debian.org>
  35326  man-db: Newest man-db breaks the pager on all terminals -- no scrollback, stray lines, etc.

Package: mount (main)
Maintainer: Vincent Renardias <vincent@debian.org>
  34292  mount sometimes trashes /etc/mtab

Package: netstd (main)
Maintainer: Herbert Xu <herbert@debian.org>
  34849  netstd: Version of netstd in potato is missing security fixes from slink version

Package: nfs-server (main)
Maintainer: Herbert Xu <herbert@debian.org>
  36732  problem between nfs-server 2.2beta37-1 (slink) and netstd 3.07-2 (hamm)
  37180  nfs-server: rpc.mountd hangs regulary

Package: nonus.debian.org (pseudo)
Maintainer: Heiko Schlittermann <heiko@datom.de>
  35578  No passiv ftp possible on nonus.debian.org
  35579  backlock in Incoming of nonus.debian.org

Package: omniorb (main)
Maintainer: Brent A. Fulgham <bfulgham@debian.org>
  36096  CORBA_sysdep.h does not define byte order

Package: pcmcia-modules-2.0.34 (main)
  33929  pcmcia-modules-2.0.34: unresolved symbols in slink, disastrous upgrade from hamm [SOLUTION: drop kernel 2.0.34 from slink]

Package: pgp5i (non-US)
Maintainer: Tommi Virtanen <tv@debian.org>
  31577  pgp5i: pgps encrypts if text has 8bit characters

Package: pilot-link (main)
Maintainer: Dermot Bradley <bradley@debian.org>
  31806  pilot-link: Can't build from source

Package: ppp (main)
Maintainer: Philip Hands <phil@hands.com>
  35064  /root/.ppprc

Package: pvm (main)
Maintainer: Drake Diedrich <Drake.Diedrich@anu.edu.au>
  37290  pvm_3.4.0-3(unstable): build error due to root-owned files

Package: python-base (main)
Maintainer: Gregor Hoffleit <flight@debian.org>
  36687  python-base: esmtp broken in smtplib.py

Package: rexec (main)
Maintainer: Herbert Xu <herbert@debian.org>
  36466  rexec: always prompts for username/passwd

Package: rsync (main)
Maintainer: Philip Hands <phil@hands.com>
  36179  directory specification is ignored
  36216  [tridge@samba.org: rsync 2.3.1 release - security fix]

Package: setserial (main)
Maintainer: Gordon Russell <g.russell@dcs.napier.ac.uk>
  31542  setserial: uses obsolete ioctls on 2.1|2 kernels
  32434  setserial: the use of rc.boot is obsolete
  34637  setserial hangs for a bit on Sun architectures

Package: sgml-base (main)
Maintainer: Manoj Srivastava <srivasta@debian.org>
  28704  sgml-base: sgml entity handling should conform to Cees de Groot's proposed std

Package: silo (main)
Maintainer: Davide Barbieri <paci@debian.org>
  34896  silo looks for kernel image in wrong place on sun4u

Package: smail (main)
Maintainer: Soenke Lange <soenke@escher.north.de>
  35092  smail crashes!
  36349  smail: Sig11

Package: smalleiffel (main)
Maintainer: Oliver Elphick <Oliver.Elphick@lfix.co.uk>
  36973  smalleiffel: bad source package

Package: ssh (non-US)
Maintainer: Philip Hands <phil@hands.com>
  36478  root can access client X display
  36632  ssh: Cannot connect to remote host using .shosts with RSA host authentication.

Package: ssleay (non-US)
Maintainer: Christoph Martin <christoph.martin@uni-mainz.de>
  36769  Sparc considered as little endian

Package: tcpdump (main)
Maintainer: Peter Tobias <tobias@et-inf.fho-emden.de>
  36692  ARM port issues

Package: telnet98 (non-US)
Maintainer: Ian Lynagh <ian@lynagh.demon.co.uk>
  30927  telnet98: Telnet98 segfaults

Package: tetex-bin (main)
Maintainer: Christoph Martin <christoph.martin@uni-mainz.de>
  36671  tetex-bin: xdvi fails on gzipped files

Package: textutils (main)
Maintainer: Galen Hazelwood <galenh@micron.net>
  36795  textutils: tail argument parsing is fubar

Package: vice (contrib)
Maintainer: Giuliano Procida <gpp10@cam.ac.uk>
  37201  ROM images in source package

Package: watchdog (main)
Maintainer: Johnie Ingram <johnie@debian.org>
  34895  type conversion problem

Package: wu-ftpd-academ (main)
Maintainer: Heiko Schlittermann <heiko@lotte.sax.de>
  34206  User ftp must not be created without my permission
  34418  wu-ftpd-academ: this ain't a licence!

Package: xaw3dg (main)
Maintainer: joost witteveen <joostje@debian.org>
  35105  xcontrib: viewres fails miserably

Package: xlockmore (main)
Maintainer: Herbert Xu <herbert@debian.org>
  35468  xlockmore-4.1[23] -mode bug segfaults

Package: xmcd (main)
Maintainer: Wichert Akkerman <wakkerma@debian.org>
  35177  xmcd: bad default device and $XMCD_LIBDIR dependency

Package: xserver-neomagic (non-free)
Maintainer: Ian Lynagh <ian@lynagh.demon.co.uk>
  34815  xserver-neomagic: XBF-NeoMagic core dumps with new libraries

Package: xserver-xsun (main)
Maintainer: Branden Robinson <branden@debian.org>
  35613  xserver-xsun: X server doesn't check /dev/fb? perms correctly [PATCH]

Package: yorick (main)
Maintainer: David H. Munro <munro@icf.llnl.gov>
  37405  yorick_1.4-12(unstable): Uses i386 assembler

This post is automatically generated. Please send comments to
wakkerma@debian.org .

Reply to: