[Date Prev][Date Next] [Thread Prev][Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

GFDL GR, vote please!



Dear Mr Secretary,

Can we have a vote please, kind sir?

To my knowledge, the proposal and related amendments are:

    Message-ID: <20060111115343.GA13782@localhost.localdomain>
    Proposed by: Anthony Towns <ajt@debian.org>
    Sponsors:
      Manoj Srivastava <srivasta@debian.org>
      Russ Allbery <rra@debian.org>
      Steve Langasek <vorlon@debian.org>
      Kalle Kivimaa <killer@debian.org>
      Roger Leigh <rleigh@debian.org>>

    Message-ID: <20060209052627.GA21881@chistera.yi.org>
    Proposed by: Adeodato Simo <adeodato@debian.org>
    Sponsors:
      Pierre Habouzit <madcoder@debian.org>
      Marc 'HE' Brockschmidt <he@debian.org>
      Anthony Towns <ajt@debian.org>
      Isaac Clerencia <isaac@debian.org>
      Anibal Monsalve Salazar <anibal@debian.org>
      Martin F Krafft <madduck@debian.org>
      Moritz Muehlenhoff <jmm@debian.org>
      Zephaniah E. Hull <warp@debian.org>

    Message-ID: <20060122234540.GA11375@debian.inet>
    Proposed by: Anton Zinoviev <zinoviev@debian.org>
    Sponsors:
      Wesley J. Landaker <wjl@debian.org>
      Raphael Hertzog <hertzog@debian.org>
      Xavier Roche <xavier@debian.org>
      Romain Francoise <rfrancoise@debian.org>
      Moritz Muehlenhoff <jmm@debian.org>
      Craig Sanders <cas@debian.org>

The original proposal became formal with Roger Leigh's second, on the
12th of January, and as no further amendments were accepted, a call for
a vote is appropriate any time two weeks after that (from the 26th of
January), as per A.2(1) and A.2(4).

I haven't followed all the twists and turns of discussion over the past
few weeks, but as I understand it the original proposal and Adeodato's updated
amendment should require a simple majority, while Anton's amendment will require
a 3:1 supermajority to pass (due to implicitly changing a foundation document).
Based on this, as per A.2(3), I think the form of the ballot should be:

[   ] Choice 1: GFDL is unsuitable for main in all cases
[   ] Choice 2: GFDL is unsuitable for main only when unmodifiable sections present
[   ] Choice 3: GFDL is DFSG-free and suitable for main in all cases [3:1]
[   ] Choice 4: Further discussion

It's probably a little bit hard for folks to find the most important
bits from the discussion we've had -- since there's been a lot of stuff
on -vote recently, and a lot more of the discussion has been on -legal
over the past few years -- so I think it'd be good to have some sort of
brief Q&A. I've had a brief chat with Adeodato, and it seems like sometime
Sunday evening UTC might be suitable, with logs (and any further rebuttal)
going up shortly after that. The theory is to give anyone who'd like
a little more information a chance to get that in a concise way before
they vote.

Cheers,
aj

Attachment: signature.asc
Description: Digital signature


Reply to: