[Date Prev][Date Next] [Thread Prev][Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

Re: OT: Windoze spyware?

on Fri, Jul 08, 2005 at 11:34:53PM -0400, Marty (martyb@ix.netcom.com) wrote:
> Carl Fink wrote:
> >On Fri, Jul 08, 2005 at 08:52:55PM -0400, Marty wrote:
> >
> >>Windoze XP box on my LAN is sending http requests to
> >>a site named movies.go.com, although there is no web
> >>client running on the XP box (at least none obvious).
> >
> >[major snippage]
> >
> >FWIW, go.com is a real, non-scam site run by Disney.
> Disney?  The perfect cover!  (2/3 wink, 1/3 paranoid)

Well, for a few months there (roughly March - May) it was inordinately
popular among 419 spammers, with a handful of go.com MXs becoming my
second leading spam source (following KORnet).  I managed to bring this
to Disney's attention, the situation's improved markedly.


Karsten M. Self <kmself@ix.netcom.com>        http://kmself.home.netcom.com/
 What Part of "Gestalt" don't you understand?
    NBC will not be able predict the winner at 8:32
    or report from 29 districts.

Attachment: signature.asc
Description: Digital signature

Reply to: