[Date Prev][Date Next] [Thread Prev][Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

FAQ: Work-Needing and Prospective Packages

Work-Needing and Prospective Packages for Debian GNU/Linux
Sven Rudolph, sr1@inf.tu-dresden.de
$Id: packages.sgml,v 1.29 1996/11/17 23:08:48 sr1 Exp sr1 $

1.  General Questions

1.1.	Before reading this document

You should have read the Debian GNU/Linux FAQ (
ftp://ftp.debian.org/debian/doc/FAQ/debian-faq.html ).

1.2.	Purpose of this document

This document is intended to identify areas that need your
contributions. It provides information that hopefully changes quite
often, so it supplements the Debian GNU/Linux FAQ.

1.3.	Feedback

Please send additions, corrections, suggestions and wishes to Sven
Rudolph sr1@inf.tu-dresden.de.  Please mention to which version of
this document your comments refer.

2.  Packages needing a new maintainer

Please inform me via e-mail:
o  when you find that you need to discontinue maintaining a package
o  when you believe that the following list is incomplete
o  when you would like to maintain one of the packages listed here.

David Engel david@ods.com :
o  binutils
o  libc5, libc6 (potentially a lot of work)
o  libc4, aout-binutils, aout-gcc (stone-age compatibility packages)

Andrew D. Fernandes adfernan@cnd.mcgill.ca :
o  acs

DJ Gregor dgregor@gregor.com :
o  cdtool
o  xwpe

Christian Linhart chris@cosy.sbg.ac.at :
o  statserial
o  tgif
o  xarchie

Michael Meskes meskes@Informatik.RWTH-Aachen.DE :
o  adjtimex
o  fdutils
o  hkgerman
o  html2latex
o  metamail

Dale Miller dale@csd.uwo.ca :
o  lclint
o  mailx

Ian Murdock imurdock@debian.org :
o  acm
o  aout-librl (this package might be unnecessary now)
o  pmake

Jim Robinson jimr@simons-rock.edu :
o  auctex
o  netpbm
o  xless
o  xpaste

Sven Rudolph sr1@inf.tu-dresden.de :
o  seyon

Martin Schulze joey@infodrom.north.de :
o  sokoban

Andrew Howell andrew@it.com.au :
o  xtron

Dominik Kubla Dominik.Kubla@Uni-Mainz.DE :
o  amd
o  kbd
o  vlock
o  ssh (ITAR restricted, needs US maintainer)

Doug Geiger runexe@ntplx.net :
o  abuse
o  apsfilter

3.  Packages that someone is working on

Programs listed in this section aren't yet available as Debian
packages, but someone is working on providing a package.

If you would like to work on one of these packages please contact the
responsible person listed below.

Chris Fearnley cjf@netaxs.com :
o  dome (http://www.netaxs.com/ cjf/jpegs.html)
o  and probably : xli

krs@caos.aamu.edu (Karl R. Sackett) :
o  LEE - Latent Energy Environments artificial life simulator
o  rsaref - installer scripts for the RSAREF crypto library
o  swarm - Objective-C based artificial life research tool
o  GNU Smalltalk
o  mimedecode: decodes transfer encoded text type mime messages.
o  rel: determines relevance of text documents to a set of keywords.
o  utf-mailx: scripts to add UTF support to mailx.

Mike Wilson cmwilson@uncc.edu :
o  mule

Sven Rudolph sr1@inf.tu-dresden.de :
o  xbill

Behan Webster behanw@verisim.com
o  sxpc (Simple Xwindows Protocol Compresser)
o  qfax (multi-user e-mail extension to efax).

o  tkHTML

Darren torin@daft.com :
o  giftool
o  canna
o  lx-gdb

Michael Alan Dorman mdorman@lot49.med.miami.edu :
o  glimpsehttpd

Warwick Harvey warwick@cs.mu.OZ.AU :
o  mercury (a purely declarative logic programming language with
   strong modes, strong types, and strong determinism)

marcus@sysc.pdx.edu :

David H. Silber dhs@firefly.com :
o  dbackup - A Debian-specific backup program.
o  lockstep - A program to keep various directory trees in sync.
o  uucpconfig - A configuration program which will become part of my
   uucp package.
o  latex2html

Hakan Ardo hakan@munin.ub2.lu.se :
o  faces - visual list monitor

Brian Sulcer bsulcer@gibson.com :
o  vile (vi-like editor)
o  rogue
o  umoria

Martin Schulze joey@infodrom.north.de :
o  vtwm: Virtual Window Manager for X11
o  mutt: a new mailreader

Michael Shields shields@crosslink.net :
o  amanda, the University of Maryland's free network backup system.
o  nntplink

Bdale Garbee bdale@gag.com :
o  spice (circuit simulation package)

Billy Chow billy.chow@eng.ox.ac.uk :
o  xbomb

Alan Bain afrb2@chiark.chu.cam.ac.uk :
o  gpc (GNU Pascal)

Christophe Le Bars clebars@teaser.fr :
o  MMM: a WWW browser implemented in Caml
o  doc-debian-fr

Yves Arrouye arrouye@marin.fdn.fr> :
o  btoa

Jon Rabone 93jkr@eng.cam.ac.uk :

Christian Lynbech lynbech@daimi.aau.dk :
o  ilisp (emacs interface to a number of lisp systems)
o  hyperbole (emacs hypertext/info management system)
o  oobr (emacs package for browsing OO programs)
o  STk (Scheme Tk, a scheme interpreter with Tk support)

Christian Hudon chrish@debian.org :
o  qmail (waiting for license change)

Tim Cutts tim@scalopus.bio.cam.ac.uk :
o  exim (a mail transfer agent,

Christian Schwarz schwarz@monet.m.isar.de :
o  metapost (postscript generating language similar to metafont)
o  penguin (a module/framework for implementing safely distributable
   perl code (applets, agents, etc.))
o  libio-perl (Perl5 IO module)
o  libsafe-perl (Perl5 Safe module)
o  TeX packages

Joey Hess joey@kite.preferred.com :
o  tracker

Dermot Bradley bradley@mourne.gpl.net :
o  Merit Radius
o  Hylafax
o  Umich LDAP
o  Nocol (network admin/monitoring)

Vincent Renardias vincent@odin.waw.com :
o  FWF (Free Widget Foundation) - A pretty good set of graphic widgets
o  Aero (A Physically Based Simulation and Animation System -
   http://www.informatik.uni-stuttgart.de/ipvr/bv/aero/ )

Klee Dienes klee@sedona.com :
o  xmcd (ftp://ftp.x.org/contrib/applications/xmcd/xmcd-2.0.README)
o  NIST's POSIX validation suite

Volker Ossenkopf ossk@astro.uni-jena.de :
o  workman

Yoshiaki Yanagihara yosiaki@bsd2.kbnes.nec.co.jp :
o  japanese packages (kterm, canna, Japanese Extended less)

Ian Main imain@vcc.bc.ca :
o  tkgoodstuff

Lars Esbjerg Hoeg lhoeg@imada.ou.dk :
o  dotfile-gen

Boris D. Beletsky borik@isracom.co.il :
o  ircd-dalnet (dalnet irc daemon)

Christian Leutloff leutloff@sundancer.tng.oche.de :
o  newtl (accessing Apple Newton Messagepad)

Todd Graham Lewis tlewis@mindspring.com :
o  Kerberos ver. V (crypto) (non-US maintainer still needed)
o  socks

Bill Bumgarner bbum@friday.com :
o  GnuStep-related packages

Stephen Pitts pitts2@memphisonline.com :
o  addressbook
o  Adobe Acrobat viewer
o  xmailbox
o  plan

Brian C. White bcwhite@verisim.com :
o  genpower, an UPS monitoring package

Steve Dunham dunham@cl-next4.cl.msu.edu :
o  xtar

4.  Programs that aren't available yet in Debian

Programs listed in this section aren't yet available as Debian
packages, but there has been an expressed desire to include them.

If you want to create a Debian package, send me an e-mail.

4.1.	Programming and development:

o  UPS - the X-based debugger.  Probably not worth building until
   we've switched to ELF. (There are Linux-specific patches around.)
o  checker
o  Scheme->C
o  SCM - Scheme interpreter which will soon be the basis of the GNU
   extension language.
o  SLIB.
o  CLISP - Common Lisp interpreter
o  ECoLisp - a Common Lisp compiler that produces faster code but
   isn't as widely used as GCL
o  CLiCC - Common Lisp compiler that generates stand-alone apps
   (rather large ones, though)
o  CLX - Common Lisp Xlib implementation
o  PCL - Portable Common Loops for GCL
o  Cross-compilation environments for alpha, m68k, SPARC
o  Modula-3 (
   http://www.research.digital.com/SRC/modula-3/html/srcm3.html )
   (building this requires up to 200MB hard disk space!)

4.2.	USENET news software:

o  strn.

4.3.	Math packages:

o  Yorick
o  MuPAD (computer algebra tool from University of Paderborn, Germany
   http://gauss-mb.uni-paderborn.de/ cube/ , please look at the
   license conditions.)
o  felt
o  LAPACK and BLAS (numerical libraries,
   http://nils.wustl.edu/schiotz/lapack-linux.html )

4.4.	Graphics:

o  Kubota Graphics Corporation's now-PD 3-D visualization system,

4.5.	Games:

o  rocks and diamonds
o  xibc (backgammon)
o  xevil
o  xgammon

4.6.	X11:

o  Andrew
o  grok (database with many functions)
o  xidle
o  olvwm
o  xtoolplaces
o  installation wrapper for Starwriter (Starwriter requires Motif)

4.7.	Communication

o  BBS (Bulletin Board System) Software

4.8.	TeX

o  tmview (svgalib DVI viewer) Kpathsea support should be added and
   the original author is already aware of this. Contact him first.

4.9.	Networking

o  other www servers (Spinner ( http://spinner.infovav.se/ ))
o  ftptool

4.10.	Text utilities

o  HTML editors (tkHTML, auc-html.el)
o  Virtual Paper (
   http://www.research.digital.com:80/SRC/virtualpaper/ )
o  wdiff (in the GNU archives)

5.  Programs that someone should write

This section contains suggestions/wishes for programs. There is no
known implementation of such a program for Linux.

o  amspell (ms-dos) like spell checker, i.e. a spell checker what
   checks the complete text first, searching for alternatives (on the
   fly) and asking for user action at the very end of the checking
   process. This saves much time on low memory machines.

Sven Rudolph <sr1@inf.tu-dresden.de> ; WWW : http://www.sax.de/~sr1/

This message was distributed manually by Bruce@debian.org after the list
initially failed to distribute it.

Reply to: