[Date Prev][Date Next] [Thread Prev][Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

The 'git' Debian package in squeeze and possible mass bug filing


Gerrit Pape wrote:

> I'm about to provide a new git binary package from the git-core (the
> distributed revision control system) source, so that 'apt-get install
> git' installs the git content tracker in squeeze.

A new version of git has been uploaded to experimental,
with the source and main binary package renamed to git.  There is a
note in the NEWS.Debian.gz to help with the transition.  Please try it
out and let us know if you find any problems.

If the git-core package is removed, it is no longer available to
satisfy dependencies.  For most packages, this is no problem, since
git Provides: git-core.  However, a Provides: does not satisfy a
versioned dependency.

The affected packages are listed below.  For futureproofing and easy
backporting, I believe they should use

  Depends: git (>= 1:1.7) | git-core (>= whatever)

gnuit never had an epoch, so such a dependency would be safe.

Now that there is a package available to test with, I would like to
file bugs for the affected packages suggesting this change.  I suggest
an RC severity since it would be nice to have the name change in
squeeze.  I am therefore Cc-ing the release team for their input.

A list of affected packages follows.  Thoughts welcome.

 - Jonathan

Andrea Corradi <lash@unstable.it>
   giggle --- Depends, Build-Depends: git-core (>=

Debian Python Modules Team <python-modules-team@lists.alioth.debian.org>
   python-git (U) --- Depends: git-core (>=

Yann Dirson <dirson@debian.org>
   stgit --- Depends: git-core (>= 1:1.5.3)

Vincent Fourmond <fourmond@debian.org>
   gitstats --- Depends: git-core (>= 1:

Guido Günther <agx@sigxcpu.org>
   git-buildpackage --- Depends: git-core (>= 1:

Wartan Hachaturow <wart@debian.org>
   qgit --- Depends: git-core (>= 1.3.0)

Sebastian Harl <tokkee@debian.org>
   tig --- Depends: git-core (>= 1.5.4)

Joey Hess <joeyh@debian.org>
   etckeeper --- Depends: git-core (>= 1:1.5.4)
   ikiwiki --- Recommends: git-core (>= 1:1.5.0)

Julien Lavergne <julien.lavergne@gmail.com>
   moap --- Suggests: git-core (>= 1:1.6.0)

Marc-Andre Lureau <marcandre.lureau@gmail.com>
   moap (U) --- Suggests: git-core (>= 1:1.6.0)

Python Applications Packaging Team <python-apps-team@lists.alioth.debian.org>
   moap (U) --- Suggests: git-core (>= 1:1.6.0)

Josh Triplett <josh@freedesktop.org>
   ikiwiki (U) --- Recommends: git-core (>= 1:1.5.0)

Iulian Udrea <iulian@ubuntu.com>
   guilt --- Depends: git-core (>= 1.4)

Daniel Watkins <daniel@daniel-watkins.co.uk>
   python-git --- Depends: git-core (>=

Reply to: