[Date Prev][Date Next] [Thread Prev][Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

[Pkg-octave-devel] HDF5 transition from version 1.8.6 => 1.8.8



Hello,

It has been a long time since the last upload of hdf5 in unstable but
here it is, version 1.8.8 is in unstable!

I need your help with the transition [1].
In most of the cases, a renamed of the build dep libhdf5-serial-dev =>
libhdf5-dev with a rebuild should be enough. Otherwise, don't hesitate
to ping me.

 While it should not impact you much, changes are important [1]:
   * Since upstream is now trying to keep a consistent ABI/API, packages
have been renamed from libhdf5-xxx-X.Y.Z (X, Y and Z being the version
number) to libhdf5-xxx-7 (7 being the version of the soname)
      * The package libhdf5-serial-* have been renamed to libhdf5-7 or
        libhdf5-dev
      * Symbol files have been added for all the libraries.
      * arm archs have also libhdf5-openmpi-dev
      * Support of HURD, armhf & s390x
      * Help is now up to date and the debian/html.tgz.uu removed
        (thanks to the source format v3.0, two source tarballs are now
        used)
      * A new package hdf5-helpers which contains h5cc, h5c++ and h5fc
        has been introduced
      * Fix many lintian warnings
      * Java HDF has been updated to version 2.8

There is the list of the impacted packages, sorted by maintainer is
available at [3] (I am aware that most of you will received duplicate
emails and I apologize).

Thanks for the help,
Sylvestre

[1] http://release.debian.org/transitions/html/hdf5.html
[2] It is just a lazy copy & paste from my blog:
http://sylvestre.ledru.info/blog/sylvestre/2012/01/18/major_changes_in_the_debian_hdf5_package
[3] 
A. Maitland Bottoms <bottoms@debian.org>
   vtk

Alastair McKinstry <mckinstry@debian.org>
   exodusii
   grads
   hdf-eos5
   magics++
   oasis3
   silo-llnl

Axel Beckert <abe@debian.org>
   gnudatalanguage (U)

Carlo Segre <segre@debian.org>
   nexus (U)

Christoph Schmidt-Hieber <christsc@gmx.de>
   stimfit

Christophe Trophime <christophe.trophime@grenoble.cnrs.fr>
   getdp (U)

D Haley <mycae@yahoo.com>
   mathgl (U)

Debian GIS Project <pkg-grass-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
   gdal
   h5utils
   netcdf
   ruby-hdfeos5

Debian Octave Group <pkg-octave-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
   octave-bim
   octave-msh
   octave3.2

Debian QA Group <packages@qa.debian.org>
   libvigraimpex

Debian Science Maintainers
<debian-science-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
   mathgl
   udav

Debian Science Team <debian-science-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
   getdp
   jhdf
   libcgns
   scilab

Dimitrios Eftaxiopoulos <eftaxi12@otenet.gr>
   mathgl (U)

Dirk Eddelbuettel <edd@debian.org>
   r-cran-hdf5

Dominique Belhachemi <domibel@debian.org>
   vtk (U)

Francesco Paolo Lovergine <frankie@debian.org>
   gdal (U)
   h5utils (U)
   netcdf (U)

Gerber van der Graaf <gerber_graaf@users.sourceforge.net>
   gpiv
   gpivtools
   libgpiv
   pygpiv

Gürkan Sengün <gurkan@phys.ethz.ch>
   gnudatalanguage

Henning Glawe <glaweh@debian.org>
   libpdl-io-hdf5-perl

Josselin Mouette <joss@debian.org>
   tessa

Juan A. Añel <aetherlux@gulo.org>
   gnudatalanguage (U)

Mathieu Malaterre <mathieu.malaterre@gmail.com>
   vtk (U)

Salvatore Bonaccorso <carnil@debian.org>
   udav (U)

Soeren Sonnenburg <sonne@debian.org>
   h5py
   shogun

Sylvestre Ledru <sylvestre@debian.org>
   jhdf (U)
   libcgns (U)
   scilab (U)

Sébastien Villemot <sebastien.villemot@ens.fr>
   octave-bim (U)
   octave-msh (U)

Thibaut Paumard <paumard@users.sourceforge.net>
   yorick-hdf5

Thomas Weber <tweber@debian.org>
   octave-bim (U)
   octave-msh (U)
   octave3.2 (U)

Thorsten Alteholz <debian@alteholz.de>
   meep
   meep-mpich
   meep-openmpi
   mpb

Tobias Stefan Richter <tsr-debian@achos.com>
   nexus

Wen Heping <wenheping@gmail.com>
   pytables

Yaroslav Halchenko <debian@onerussian.com>
   stimfit (U)

Youhei SASAKI <uwabami@gfd-dennou.org>
   ruby-hdfeos5 (U)







Reply to: