[Date Prev][Date Next] [Thread Prev][Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

Euro Support in Debian

The Debian Project                                http://www.debian.org/
Euro Support in Debian                                  press@debian.org
December 31st, 2001

On January 1, 2002, twelve of the countries in the European Economic
and Monetary Union (EMU) will give up their own currencies and adopt
the new Euro (EUR) currency: Austria, Belgium, Finland, France,
Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands,
Portugal, and Spain.  The Vatican City is also participating in the
changeover.  Countries that have used the currency of one of the above
countries will adopt the Euro as well.  This makes it a total of about
fourty countries which will share one single common currency.

Since the Euro currency is represented by a symbol of its own,
supporting this requires some adjustments in operating systems.
Javier Fernández-Sanguino Peña wrote the Debian Euro HOWTO which
explains how to set this up on a Debian system.  The document is at


It includes instructions for setting up the Euro symbol both on the
Linux console and in the X Window System.  Additionally, special Euro
packages were uploaded into testing/unstable (euro-support,
tetex-eurosym) to provide easy support for the Euro symbol.

See also:



Reply to: