[Date Prev][Date Next] [Thread Prev][Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

Re: What to do after forgetting to close a bug

On Fri, May 27, 2011 at 10:50 AM, Tony Houghton <h@realh.co.uk> wrote:
> I forgot to close #610981 when I released roxterm 1.21.4-1. I guess I
> should fix this by sending a message to 610981-done@b.d.o but I'm not
> 100% sure what to do about debian/changelog. I think I should add
> (Closes: #610981) retrospectively to the old change description which
> applies to this bug. Is that correct?

from DD Reference [1]:
"If you happen to mistype a bug number or forget a bug in the
changelog entries, don't hesitate to undo any damage the error caused.
...To close any remaining bugs that were fixed by your upload, email
the .changes file to <XXX-done@bugs.debian.org>, where XXX is the bug
number, and put Version: YYY and an empty line as the first two lines
of the body of the email, where YYY is the first version where the bug
has been fixed.

Bear in mind that it is not obligatory to close bugs using the
changelog as described above. If you simply want to close bugs that
don't have anything to do with an upload you made, do it by emailing
an explanation to <XXX-done@bugs.debian.org>. Do not close bugs in the
changelog entry of a version if the changes in that version of the
package don't have any bearing on the bug."

[1] http://www.debian.org/doc/manuals/developers-reference/pkgs.html#upload-bugfix


Reply to: