Re: Remove User on Remove, or Purge?
If a package creates a user when it is installed, should it remove this user
when it is removed, on only when it is purged?
IMHO, when it is purged. At least if it may own the configuration files that
removing the package may leave behind. For the package I have that creates a
user (lyskom-server) or group (jwhois), I remove them when purging the package,
and only then.
I couldn't find this topic in either the Policy Manual or Developers
I haven't seen it there, but I sort of applied what else it said about how
purging the package should remove it completely. To me, that includes
removing any users or groups created by its installation.
Peter - http://www.softwolves.pp.se/
I do not read or respond to mail with HTML attachments.