[Date Prev][Date Next] [Thread Prev][Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

Re: More sorbs blacklisting

On Tue, Jun 06, 2006 at 07:00:48PM +0200, Kurt Petersen wrote:
> sorbs is now blacklisting sites because they guess that it is a
> dynamic ip number. 

dul.dnsbl.sorbs.net has been in existence for a long time (years).

> <sxxx@xxxxx.dk>: host mgw.netsite.dk[] said: 554 Service
>     unavailable; Client host [] blocked using
>     dul.dnsbl.sorbs.net; Dynamic IP Addresses See:
>     http://www.sorbs.net/lookup.shtml? (in reply to RCPT
>     TO command)
> My IP number is 
> The reverse is

The most likely reason is that spam was received to a SORBS spamtrap
from a machine in this netblock, and given that the reverse DNS
"looks dynamic" it was added to that DNSBL.

> There is no indication of a dynamic IP number - and it is not. It has
> been fixed for many years.

If it is truly static, as in, you will always get that IP, that is
used just for you, no matter if you switch off your DSL for a week
then back on again, and your ISP complies with all the other rules
that SORBS likes to enforce then you could possibly get this
decision reversed.

On the other hand you may find it easier to get the people you mail
to whitelist you or stop using this DNSBL.

Or even easier, you could smarthost through a machine which does not
a have a reverse DNS that looks like any old domestic DSL.  (Not
saying you are wrong to do what you do, just that you are overley
optimistic to expect it to work that well in today's Internet)

> Is this a new sorbs idea?


Let's not have the SORBS thread again, hey?

Attachment: signature.asc
Description: Digital signature

Reply to: