[Date Prev][Date Next] [Thread Prev][Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

Re: testing postfix' maps_rbl config?

Hope this helps,


maps_rbl_domains = sbl.spamhaus.org,

Quote from spamhaus.org (from their faq):
Once you have set up your mail server to use sbl.spamhaus.org, you can test
to see if the SBL blocking is working by sending an email (any email) to:
nelson-sbl-test@crynwr.com (you must send the email from the mail server
which you wish to test). The Crynwr system robot will answer you to tell you
if your server is correctly blocking SBL-listed IPs or not.

On Mon, May 19, 2003 at 04:14:11PM +1000, Neale Banks wrote:
> I've set up postfix on a Woody machine as a low-volume server (like it's
> getting *really* low volume).  All appears well except the amount of mail
> slipping through the maps_rbl config, which is pretty draconian - like
> this:
> #
> # OK, we are being pretty aggresive here....
> maps_rbl_domains = proxies.blackholes.wirehub.net.,
>                 dnsbl.njabl.org.,
>                 query.bondedsender.org.,
>                 bl.spamcop.net.,
>                 relays.ordb.org.,
>                 inputs.relays.osirusoft.com.
> smtpd_client_restrictions = hash:/etc/postfix/spammers,
>                 hash:/etc/postfix/kr-nets,
>                 reject_maps_rbl,
>                 permit
> #
> /etc/postfix/spammers and /etc/postfix/kr-nets only have entries for which
> teh RHS is "550 <blah>".
> Any suggestions on why sites which are listed in the above RBLs would be
> able to relay mail (as in for domains handled by this server) through the
> above rules?
> Any suggestions on how to explicitly test the RBL config?
> Thanks,
> Neale.
> -- 
> To UNSUBSCRIBE, email to debian-isp-request@lists.debian.org
> with a subject of "unsubscribe". Trouble? Contact listmaster@lists.debian.org


-- Mark Lijftogt

Reply to: