Re: Safe File Update (atomic)
On Thu, Dec 30, 2010 at 7:15 PM, Shachar Shemesh <firstname.lastname@example.org> wrote:
> If my (extremely leaky) memory serves me right, Windows has it. It's called
> "delete and then rename". It is not atomic (since when do Windows care about
> not breaking stuff), but it does exactly that.
> If you delete a file and quickly (yes, this feature is time based) rename a
> different file to the same name, the new file will receive all metadata
> information the old file had (including owner, permissions etc.)
> Just thought I'd share this little nugget to show you how much worse
> non-posix has it.
You're kidding me. Got any source to back this up?