[Date Prev][Date Next] [Thread Prev][Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

seeking: Ian Jackson

iwj@d.o expands to a greenend.org.uk address, and the mx for that
domain refuses to accept my mail.

<ianXXXXXXXX.greenend.org.uk>: host
    mx-relay.chiark.greenend.org.uk[] said: 550
    invalid MAIL-FROM: Error during DNS MX lookup for
    lapse.madduck.net: DNS alias found where canonical name wanted
    [Irritated] (in reply to RCPT TO command)

Yes, lapse.madduck.net is a CNAME (*c*anonical *name*) to an MX RR,
and that's RFC-compliant ttbomk. If it is not, I would appreciate if
someone shoved the relevant sections into my face.

In the mean time, I'd be grateful if Ian gave me a means to
communicate with him. Or if someone would offer to relay a message
to him.

The spammers have long won if people put such boulders in the way of
communication. Oh wait, I doubt spammers use CNAMEs...

 .''`.   martin f. krafft <madduck@debian.org>
: :'  :  proud Debian developer, author, administrator, and user
`. `'`   http://people.debian.org/~madduck - http://debiansystem.info
  `-  Debian - when you have better things to do than fixing systems
"although occasionally there is something to be said for solitude."
                                          -- special agent dale cooper

Attachment: digital_signature_gpg.asc
Description: Digital signature (see http://martin-krafft.net/gpg/)

Reply to: