[Date Prev][Date Next] [Thread Prev][Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

Mass bug filing for debconf "abuse" by using low|medium priority debconf notes

As explained in
http://lists.debian.org/debian-devel/2006/09/msg00438.html, I plan a
mass bug filing for packages using debconf "notes" templates and
display them at low or medium priorities.

The debconf-devel(7) manpage makes it clear that the "note" type should
be used only for important notes that the user really should see.

On the other hand, the "low" priority is meant for very trivial items
that have defaults that will work in the vast majority of
cases. "Medium" are for normal items that have reasonable defaults.

In short, a note should only be used for IMPORTANT stuff, so actually
all debconf notes should be priority high....or should not exist.

The discussion showed a possible exception for notes mentioning the
creation of device files as per a policy requirement. These will be
excluded from the MBF.

As the discussion did not show any other strong opposition to the
proposal, I will soon launch the mass bug filing campaign. The bug
reports will suggest to either move these notes to README.Debian or
NEWS.Debian if it is not critical to display them to users. For other
items, it will suggest to either use the "error" type of debconf
templates or raise the priority as very last alternative.

These bugs will be usertagged "useless_notes" (unless someone finds
something more politically correct) by
debian-i18n@lists.debian.org. They could later be grouped into a "no
more useless notes" metabug if the "debian-i18n" pseudo-package is
accepted (#388212).

Packages with low priority debconf notes:
Aide Maintainers <pkg-aide-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
  aide -- config:18 aide/setmailaddress
Alexis Sukrieh <sukria@debian.org>
  backup-manager -- config:64 backup-manager/upload-user-scp-warning
Andreas Schuldei <andreas@debian.org>
  webmin-ldap-user-simple -- config:18 webmin-ldap-skolelinux/no-auto-config
Andrés Roldán <aroldan@debian.org>
  mtop -- config:86 mtop/info
Anton Zinoviev <zinoviev@debian.org>
  kbedic -- postinst:34 kbedic/failed_download
Aurélien GÉRÔME <ag@roxor.cx>
  hybserv -- config:6 hybserv/configure-hybrid-notice
Camm Maguire <camm@enhanced.com>
  atlas3-3dnow -- config:8 atlas3/ldlp
  atlas3-3dnow -- config:9 atlas3/blas_lapack
  atlas3-3dnow -- config:11 atlas3-3dnow/3dnow_extensions
  atlas3-3dnow -- config:15 atlas3/nfs
  atlas3-base -- config:10 atlas3/ldlp
  atlas3-base -- config:11 atlas3/blas_lapack
  atlas3-base -- config:12 atlas3/nfs
  atlas3-sse2 -- config:6 atlas3/ldlp
  atlas3-sse2 -- config:7 atlas3/blas_lapack
  atlas3-sse2 -- config:11 atlas3-sse2/sse2_extensions
  atlas3-sse2 -- config:15 atlas3/nfs
  atlas3-sse -- config:6 atlas3/ldlp
  atlas3-sse -- config:7 atlas3/blas_lapack
  atlas3-sse -- config:10 atlas3-sse/sse_extensions
  atlas3-sse -- config:14 atlas3/nfs
Davide G. M. Salvetti <salve@debian.org>
  mailcrypt -- config:36 mailcrypt/alreadydefault
Debian QA Group <packages@qa.debian.org>
  f-prot-installer -- postinst:28 f-prot-installer/failed
Debian logcheck Team <logcheck-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
  logcheck-database -- config:17 logcheck-database/standard-rename-note
Debian tpctl maintainers <pkg-tpctl-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
  tpctl -- config:8 tpctl/apmiser-installed
Eric Delaunay <delaunay@debian.org>
  xtel -- config:7 xtel/fonts_note
Giuseppe Sacco <eppesuig@debian.org>
  hylafax-server -- postinst:231 hylafax-server/configure_note
Javier Fernandez-Sanguino Pen~a <jfs@computer.org>
  checksecurity -- postinst:8 checksecurity/oldconf
Jean-Michel Kelbert <kelbert@debian.org>
  wflogs -- config:145 wflogs/email_more_questions
Mark Brown <broonie@debian.org>
  leafnode -- config:85 leafnode/update-groupinfo
  leafnode -- config:87 leafnode/update-groupinfo
  powertweakd -- config:23 powertweak/daemon_config
Matthew Vernon <matthew@debian.org>
  openssh-server -- config:61 ssh/insecure_telnetd
Nick Phillips <nwp@lemon-computing.com>
  teapop -- config:38 teapop/already-passwd
  teapop-ldap -- config:38 teapop/already-passwd
  teapop-mysql -- config:38 teapop/already-passwd
  teapop-pgsql -- config:38 teapop/already-passwd
Nicolas Boullis <nboullis@debian.org>
  em8300 -- postinst:27 em8300/microcode/download_failed
Norbert Tretkowski <nobse@debian.org>
  slrn -- config:72 slrn/manual_getdescs
  slrnpull -- config:49 slrnpull/run_manual
Ola Lundqvist <opal@debian.org>
  harden -- config:8 harden/welcome
Pascal Hakim <pasc@debian.org>
  anacron -- config:11 anacron/jobs_in_crontab
Paul Slootman <paul@debian.org>
  ipppd -- config:22 ipppd/wrongif
  isdnvboxserver -- config:66 isdnvboxserver/doityourself
  isdnvboxserver -- config:171 isdnvboxserver/doityourself
  isdnvboxserver -- postinst:217 isdnvboxserver/spoolcreate
  isdnvboxserver -- postinst:260 isdnvboxserver/spoolcreate
Pawel Wiecek <coven@debian.org>
  libvpopmail-freecdb -- postinst:33 shared/vpopmail/enableplugin
  libvpopmail-lmysql -- postinst:33 shared/vpopmail/enableplugin
  libvpopmail-lmysql -- postinst:34 shared/vpopmail/mysqlconf
  libvpopmail-mysql -- postinst:33 shared/vpopmail/enableplugin
  libvpopmail-mysql -- postinst:34 shared/vpopmail/mysqlconf
Pierre Ancelot <eternityos@free.fr>
  hwtools -- config:9 hwtools/no-scsi
Radovan Garabík <garabik@kassiopeia.juls.savba.sk>
  efingerd -- config:14 efingerd/note
  karrigell -- config:12 karrigell/note
Roland Bauerschmidt <rb@debian.org>
  colormake -- config:14 colormake/renamed
Sam Hartman <hartmans@debian.org>
  ssh-krb5 -- config:72 ssh/insecure_telnetd
  ssh-krb5 -- config:94 ssh/forward_warning
Stefan Hornburg (Racke) <racke@linuxia.de>
  interchange -- config:172 interchange/cansoap
Takuo KITAME <kitame@debian.org>
  mozilla-browser -- config:26 mozilla/prefs_note
Tollef Fog Heen <tfheen@debian.org>
  msttcorefonts -- config:73 msttcorefonts/blurb
Tomohiro KUBOTA <kubota@debian.org>
  language-env -- config:6 language-env/installation_is_insufficient
Vivek Dasmohapatra <vivek@etla.org>
  dbishell -- config:7 dbishell/dbiwarning
Volker Ossenkopf <ossk@ph1.uni-koeln.de>
  workman -- postinst:28 workman/cdrom_link_created
  workman -- postinst:38 workman/cdrom_gid_changed
  workman -- postinst:47 workman/cdrom_perm_changed
  xvmount -- postinst:84 xvmount/convert_succeeded
  xvmount -- postinst:112 xvmount/generate_succeeded
Wouter Verhelst <wouter@debian.org>
  nbd-client -- config:17 nbd-client/no-auto-config
  nbd-server -- config:13 nbd-server/autogen
Yu Guanghui <ygh@debian.org>
  zhcon -- config:8 zhcon/rebuild_kernel
resolvconf maintainers <resolvconf-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
  resolvconf -- config:33 resolvconf/bad-pppconfig-hook
  resolvconf -- config:38 resolvconf/bad-pppconfig-hook
  resolvconf -- config:42 resolvconf/bad-pppoeconf-hook
  resolvconf -- config:46 resolvconf/bad-xisp-hook
  resolvconf -- config:51 resolvconf/bad-xisp-hook

Packages with medium priority debconf notes:
Aide Maintainers <pkg-aide-maintainers@lists.alioth.debian.org>
  aide -- config:23 aide/mustaideinit
Andreas Barth <aba@not.so.argh.org>
  mgetty-fax -- config:9 mgetty-fax/new_security_scheme
Andrés Roldán <aroldan@debian.org>
  mtop -- config:81 mtop/mismatch
Anibal Monsalve Salazar <anibal@debian.org>
  apmd -- config:42 apmd/hdparm-removed
Anton Zinoviev <zinoviev@debian.org>
  console-cyrillic -- config:187 console-cyrillic/abusing_debconf
Arnaud Quette <aquette@debian.org>
  nut -- config:29 nut/change_system_user
Aurelien Jarno <aurel32@debian.org>
  libsensors3 -- config:12 libsensors3/old2.6kernel
  libsensors3 -- config:20 libsensors3/nosensors_2.6
Bart Cornelis (cobaco) <cobaco@linux.be>
  desktop-profiles -- config:15 desktop-profiles/replace-gconf-system-wide-path-file
  desktop-profiles -- config:27 desktop-profiles/replace-gconf-system-wide-path-file
Bart Martens <bartm@knars.be>
  flashplugin-nonfree -- config:20 flashplugin-nonfree/not_exist
Bdale Garbee <bdale@gag.com>
  amanda-common -- config:10 amanda-common/merge_amandates
  dump -- config:13 dump/dumpdates_is_a_symlink
  dump -- config:19 dump/moving_from_etc_to_var
Camm Maguire <camm@enhanced.com>
  lam-runtime -- config:10 lam-runtime/lam4
Carlo Contavalli <ccontavalli@debian.org>
  wipl-client-java -- config:10 wipl-client-java/info
Christian Hammers <ch@debian.org>
  mysql-server-5.0 -- config:15 mysql-server-5.0/mysql_install_db_notes
Christian Marillat <marillat@debian.org>
  cricket -- config:13 cricket/config_tree_moved
Clément Stenac <zorglub@debian.org>
  spong-client -- config:7 spong-client/init
Colin Watson <cjwatson@debian.org>
  trn4 -- config:89 trn4/whoami-change
Console utilities maintainers <pkg-kbd-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
  console-setup -- config:1817 console-setup/dont_ask_layout
  console-setup-mini -- config:1817 console-setup/dont_ask_layout
David B. Harris <dbharris@debian.org>
  shaper -- config:33 shaper/kernel-modules
David Gil <dgil@telefonica.net>
  phpgacl -- config:13 phpgacl/setup
Davide G. M. Salvetti <salve@debian.org>
  auctex -- config:34 auctex/defaultchanged
Debian QA Group <packages@qa.debian.org>
  f-prot-installer -- config:88 f-prot-installer/install_later
  xapple2 -- config:8 xapple2/suid
Debian TeX maintainers <debian-tex-maint@lists.debian.org>
  tetex-bin -- config:44 tetex-bin/cnf_name
  tex-common -- config:48 tex-common/cnf_name
Debian logcheck Team <logcheck-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
  logcheck -- config:14 logcheck/install-note
  logcheck -- config:17 logcheck/changes
Debian tpctl maintainers <pkg-tpctl-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
  tpctl -- config:7 tpctl/need-thinkpad-modules
Ed Boraas <ed@debian.org>
  reiser4progs -- config:9 reiser4progs/new_disk_format
Elie Rosenblum <fnord@debian.org>
  album -- config:6 album/info
Eloy A. Paris <peloy@debian.org>
  dhcp3-client -- postinst:22 dhcp3-client/dhclient-script_moved
  dhcp3-client -- postinst:25 dhcp3-client/dhclient-needs-restarting
Emmanuel Lacour <elacour@home-dn.net>
  suphp-common -- config:14 suphp-common/upgrade0.6.0
Emmanuel le Chevoir <mms@debian.org>
  xsmbrowser -- config:19 xsmbrowser/etc_dir
Eric Delaunay <delaunay@debian.org>
  xtel -- config:10 xtel/ppp_note
Federico Di Gregorio <fog@debian.org>
  nvidia-cg-toolkit -- config:20 nvidia-cg-toolkit/not_exist
Francesco Paolo Lovergine <frankie@debian.org>
  aolserver4 -- config:9 aolserver4/introduction
Frank Küster <frank@kuesterei.ch>
  netenv -- config:247 netenv/info_interfaces
  netenv -- config:265 netenv/noconf
  netenv -- config:267 netenv/twoconfs
Ganesan Rajagopal <rganesan@debian.org>
  libslp1 -- config:12 libslp1/multicast
  libslp1 -- config:21 libslp1/multicast-route
Giuseppe Sacco <eppesuig@debian.org>
  hylafax-server -- postinst:221 hylafax-server/attachment
Gopal Narayanan <gopal@debian.org>
  xplanet -- config:11 xplanet/Stable_Release
Guilherme de S. Pastore <gpastore@debian.org>
  john -- config:20 john/no-replacement
Jamie Wilkinson <jaq@debian.org>
  quake2-data -- config:66 quake2-data/shareinst
  quake2-data -- config:70 quake2-data/fullinst
Javier Fernandez-Sanguino Pen~a <jfs@computer.org>
  euro-support -- config:6 euro-support/configuring
  snort -- config:105 snort/please_restart_manually
  snort -- config:114 snort/config_parameters
  snort-mysql -- config:57 snort-mysql/needs_db_config
  snort-mysql -- config:67 snort-mysql/config_parameters
  snort-mysql -- config:75 snort-mysql/please_restart_manually
  snort-pgsql -- config:56 snort-pgsql/needs_db_config
  snort-pgsql -- config:66 snort-pgsql/config_parameters
  snort-pgsql -- config:75 snort-pgsql/please_restart_manually
  tiger -- config:7 tiger/policy_adapt
  user-es -- config:11 user-es/configure-es
  user-euro-es -- config:10 user-euro-es/configure-euro-es
Jesus Climent <jesus.climent@hispalinux.es>
  rssh -- config:17 rssh/update-config-pre-2.2
Jon Marler <jmarler@debian.org>
  qmail-src -- config:7 qmail-src/build
Josselin Mouette <joss@debian.org>
  gtk2-engines-spherecrystal -- config:22 gtk2-engines/restart_gtk_apps_for_svg
Juan Manuel Garcia Molina <juanma@debian.org>
  facturalux -- config:10 facturalux/databasenote
Julien BLACHE <jblache@debian.org>
  mcelog -- postinst:21 mcelog/unusable
LENART Janos <ocsi@debian.org>
  mga-vid-common -- config:6 mga-vid-common/device_node_warning
Laszlo Boszormenyi (GCS) <gcs@debian.hu>
  gradm2 -- config:9 gradm2/create_dev_grsec
Mario Lang <mlang@debian.org>
  filterproxy -- config:9 filterproxy/readme
Mark Brown <broonie@debian.org>
  leafnode -- config:92 leafnode/expireinfo
Martin Langhoff <martin@nzl.com.ar>
  twig -- config:7 twig/minimal-setup
  twig -- config:12 twig/db-update
Martin Loschwitz <madkiss@debian.org>
  gidentd -- config:5 gidentd/default_daemon
Masayuki Hatta (mhatta) <mhatta@debian.org>
  gtktrain -- config:7 gtktrain/get-train-schedule
Massimo Dal Zotto <dz@debian.org>
  dpkg-www -- config:7 dpkg-www/update-apache-config
Matt Brown <debian@mattb.net.nz>
  phpwiki -- postinst:284 phpwiki/notes/configupgrade
Mattia Dongili <malattia@debian.org>
  cpufreqd -- config:17 cpufreqd/no_pm
  cpufreqd -- config:26 cpufreqd/no_procfs_sysfs
Mediawiki Maintenance Team <pkg-mediawiki-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
  mediawiki1.5 -- config:21 mediawiki/upgrade
  mediawiki1.7 -- config:29 mediawiki/upgrade-1d4
Michael Biebl <biebl@teco.edu>
  libsctp1 -- config:43 lksctp-tools/nosctp
Michael Holzt <michael-debian@holzt.de>
  gwhois -- config:7 gwhois/oldfiles
Morgon Kanter <morgon@surgo.net>
  vtun -- config:8 vtun/passwords
OHURA Makoto <ohura@debian.org>
  ptex-jisfonts -- config:6 ptex-jisfonts/jisftconfig
Ola Lundqvist <opal@debian.org>
  harden-clients -- config:8 harden-clients/plaintext
  harden-servers -- config:8 harden-servers/plaintext
  harden-servers -- config:10 harden-servers/inetd
  harden-servers -- config:14 harden-servers/vncserver
  harden-servers -- postinst:13 harden-servers/vncserver
Oliver Kurth <oku@debian.org>
  masqmail -- config:29 masqmail/note_moved_tpl
  masqmail -- config:176 masqmail/you_are_not_finished
Pascal Hakim <pasc@debian.org>
  blosxom -- config:10 blosxom/old_cgi_file
Paul Martin <pm@debian.org>
  radioclk -- config:20 radioclk/configure_ntp
Paul Telford <pxt@debian.org>
  autolog -- config:4 autolog/note
Pawel Wiecek <coven@debian.org>
  mp3info -- config:12 mp3info/newmp3info
  mush-src -- config:7 mush-src/build
Pedro Zorzenon Neto <pzn@debian.org>
  avrprog -- config:7 avrprog/suid_warning
Rene Engelhard <rene@debian.org>
  muttprint -- config:34 muttprint/utf8
Rene Weber <rene_debmaint@public.e-mail.elvenlord.com>
  dailystrips -- config:9 dailystrips/warning-etcdefs
Sam Hartman <hartmans@debian.org>
  ssh-krb5 -- config:18 ssh/ssh2_keys_merged
Simon Law <sfllaw@debian.org>
  wvdial -- config:66 wvdial/passphrases_mismatch
Stefan Hornburg (Racke) <racke@linuxia.de>
  interchange -- config:77 interchange/usernoroot
  interchange -- config:114 interchange/groupnoroot
Thomas Viehmann <tv@beamnet.de>
  dput -- config:11 dput/config-file-format
Tim Cutts <timc@chiark.greenend.org.uk>
  am-utils -- config:34 am-utils/log-to-file
Torsten Landschoff <torsten@debian.org>
  ddclient -- config:57 ddclient/modifiedconfig
  ddclient -- config:161 ddclient/newconfigfmt
Torsten Werner <twerner@debian.org>
  ejabberd -- config:14 ejabberd/nomatch
Volker Ossenkopf <ossk@ph1.uni-koeln.de>
  workman -- config:38 workman/no_block_device
  workman -- postinst:30 workman/cdrom_link_failed
  workman -- postinst:40 workman/cdrom_gid_failed
  workman -- postinst:49 workman/cdrom_perm_failed
  xvmount -- config:27 xvmount/wrong_format
  xvmount -- postinst:82 xvmount/convert_failed
  xvmount -- postinst:114 xvmount/generate_failed
Víctor Pérez Pereira <vperez@debianvenezuela.org>
  squidguard -- config:14 squidguard/db
Wolfgang Sourdeau <was@debian.org>
  lire -- config:57 lire/foundlocaluser
Wouter Verhelst <wouter@debian.org>
  logtool -- config:76 logtool/error-multiple
Xavier Luthi <xavier@caroxav.be>
  b2evolution -- config:35 b2evolution/apache
  b2evolution -- config:40 b2evolution/install_semi_manual
  b2evolution -- config:44 b2evolution/install_manual
  b2evolution -- config:60 b2evolution/apache
  b2evolution -- config:64 b2evolution/install_auto
Yven Johannes Leist <leist@beldesign.de>
  mueller7-dict -- postinst:51 mueller7-dict/no-utf-8-locale
resolvconf maintainers <resolvconf-devel@lists.alioth.debian.org>
  resolvconf -- config:75 resolvconf/downup-interfaces

Reply to: