[Date Prev][Date Next] [Thread Prev][Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

libpng status update

With the sarge release delaying and more and more packages being
rebuilt, I have noticed that there are very few packages using older
versions of libpng2/libpng3 left. Therefore, I propose the following

1. The following packages still don't use versioned symbols:

Aaron Lehmann <aaronl@vitelus.com>: pngcrush
Aaron Lehmann <aaronl@vitelus.com>: zsnes
Alan Bain <afrb2@debian.org>: xnecview
Angel Ramos <seamus@debian.org>: knetfilter
Anthony Fok <foka@debian.org>: qterm
Benjamin Drieu <benj@debian.org>: prestimel
Christian T. Steigies <cts@debian.org>: hp2xx
Chris Waters <xtifr@debian.org>: ted
Chris Waters <xtifr@debian.org>: ted-gtk
Daniel Franklin <d.franklin@ieee.org>: printbill
Darren Salt <linux@youmustbejoking.demon.co.uk>: pngmeta
David Martinez Moreno <ender@debian.org>: crafted
David Martinez Moreno <ender@debian.org>: freecraft
David Martinez Moreno <ender@debian.org>: xmovie
Dirk Eddelbuettel <edd@debian.org>: r-cran-rgl
Filippo Panessa <kalem@linux.it>: ksetisaver
Gerd Knorr <kraxel@debian.org>: motv
Gopal Narayanan <gopal@debian.org>: pgplot5
Gopal Narayanan <gopal@debian.org>: wip
Ivan E. Moore II <rkrusty@debian.org>: ksocrat
Ivan E. Moore II <rkrusty@debian.org>: libqte-mt3
Ivan E. Moore II <rkrusty@debian.org>: qte3-mt-mysql
Ivan E. Moore II <rkrusty@debian.org>: qte3-mt-odbc
Ivan E. Moore II <rkrusty@debian.org>: qte3-mt-psql
Jaakko Niemi <liiwi@debian.org>: crossfire-edit
James LewisMoss <dres@debian.org>: gnotepad+
James R. Van Zandt <jrv@debian.org>: xli
Jan-Hendrik Palic <jan.palic@linux-debian.de>: gnobog
Jan-Hendrik Palic <jan.palic@linux-debian.de>: gnome-iconedit
Karl Bartel <karlb@gmx.net>: black-box
Karl Bartel <karlb@gmx.net>: penguin-command
Kevin M. Rosenberg <kmr@debian.org>: ctsim
Kevin M. Rosenberg <kmr@debian.org>: ctsim-athlon
Kevin M. Rosenberg <kmr@debian.org>: ctsim-pentium3
Kevin M. Rosenberg <kmr@debian.org>: ctsim-pentium4
Manuel Estrada Sainz <ranty@debian.org>: visualos
Marcelo E. Magallon <mmagallo@debian.org>: libdevil1
Mark Baker <mbaker@iee.org>: chimera2
Mark Purcell <msp@debian.org>: kfocus
Mark Purcell <msp@debian.org>: linuxvideostudio
Matej Vela <vela@debian.org>: wv
Maximilian Reiss <max@debian.org>: pixieplus
Michael Janssen <jamuraa@debian.org>: vgrabbj
Michael Spanier <mail@michael-spanier.de>: gwenview
Ola Lundqvist <opal@debian.org>: fbgrab
Ola Lundqvist <opal@debian.org>: lightspeed
Radovan Garabik <garabik@melkor.dnp.fmph.uniba.sk>: gbatnav
Roberto Suarez Soto <turgon@debian.org>: wallp
Sean 'Shaleh' Perry <shaleh@debian.org>: bbconf
Stephen Zander <gibreel@debian.org>: libplot2
Stephen Zander <gibreel@debian.org>: plotutils
Steve Langasek <vorlon@debian.org>: libfnlib0
Steve M. Robbins <smr@debian.org>: imlib2
Takuo KITAME <kitame@debian.org>: w3cam
Theodore Karkoulis <bilbo@debian.org>: amsn
Thimo Neubauer <thimo@debian.org>: ace-of-penguins
Tomas Guemes <tomas@enosig.org>: terraform

Please rebuild these packages, especially library ones. Don't change
anything to the build dependencies, just upload a new version. If all
libraries are rebuilt timely for sarge (that makes only 6 packages), we
can move on to the next step:

2. Move completely to libpng 1.2.x. If almost all packages using libpng
in sarge are rebuilt to use versioned symbols, we can then make a smooth
transition for all packages still using libpng2/libpng10. Then, we can
hope to have all libpng2/libpng10 packages removed from sarge+1.

3. Legacy packages will follow in the long term. We can probably remove
libpng3 as soon as all packages have been rebuilt. For libpng3-dev, this
requires changing quite a load of source packages so we'll have to wait.
This leaves only 3 packages in sarge+1: libpng12-0, libpng12-dev and
libpng3-dev, instead of 8 in sarge. This should bring back libpng
handling to that of a normal library.
 .''`.           Josselin Mouette        /\./\
: :' :           josselin.mouette@ens-lyon.org
`. `'                        joss@debian.org
  `-  Debian GNU/Linux -- The power of freedom

Attachment: signature.asc
Description: Ceci est une partie de message =?ISO-8859-1?Q?num=E9riquement?= =?ISO-8859-1?Q?_sign=E9e=2E?=

Reply to: