Re: Policy on Account creation and deletion?
>>>>> "Marc" == Marc Haber <email@example.com> writes:
Marc> (3) Deletion I think that the account should be deleted when
Marc> the package is uninstalled. dpkg documentation says that the
Marc> only difference between remove and purge is that remove
Marc> doesn't delete conffiles while purge does. This can be
Marc> interpreted as a requirement to remove the account even on
Marc> remove, which might lead to files becoming unowned.
If you do delete the user, don't blindly delete the home directory
associated with that user, eg. by providing deluser the --remove-home
flag, you don't know where the entry in /etc/passwd might point, and
might accidently delete the wrong thing (or the entire file system in
fact, if the home directory was stupidly set to "/").
Brian May <firstname.lastname@example.org>