[Date Prev][Date Next] [Thread Prev][Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

Deprecating debmake

Hash: SHA1


This is to make it "official".

First, the executive summary: debmake will be removed from testing and
unstable some time after the release of etch. Please switch to
debhelper if you are still using debmake.

You can stop reading here if none of your packages uses debmake.

Now, the rationale and the details:

As of today, there are less than 60 packages in unstable still using
debmake, and there is an excellent package called debhelper which can
do everything that debmake does and probably much better, so it does
not make much sense to keep debmake alive forever.

This will be a smooth transition. So smooth that I don't even want to
bother you with bug reports *yet*. In fact, before reporting bugs, I'll
still wait a few months (only a few months) to see how the number of
debmake-using packages decreases because of this announce.

Then, there will be bug reports for all packages affected, but will
only be upgraded to serious after the release of etch.

Note that it is in no way mandatory that you switch to debhelper in
particular (there are many helper packages to choose from, and you
could even decide not to use any at all). However, while the details
differ, debhelper is similar enough to debmake so that switching to
debhelper should be generally painless, so that's what I would
strongly recommend you to do.

If you forgot whether or not any of your packages uses debmake (who knows),
here is a current list:

wmsmpmon           Alain Schroeder <alain@debian.org>
hp-ppd             A Mennucc1 <mennucc1@debian.org>
translate          Anibal Monsalve Salazar <anibal@debian.org>
xtranslate         Anibal Monsalve Salazar <anibal@debian.org>
fmirror            Antonin Kral <A.Kral@sh.cvut.cz>
cadaver            Bernd Eckenfels <ecki@debian.org>
gnarwl             Cajus Pollmeier <cajus@debian.org>
yorick             David H. Munro <munro1@llnl.gov>
yorick-doc         David H. Munro <munro1@llnl.gov>
fortunes-br        Eduardo Marcel Macan <macan@debian.org>
vsound             Eric Van Buggenhaut <ericvb@debian.org>
xmon               Filip Van Raemdonck <mechanix@debian.org>
xinput             Frederic Lepied <Lepied@debian.org>
avr-libc           Hakan Ardo <hakan@debian.org>
ftpwatch           Hakan Ardo <hakan@debian.org>
picon-misc         Hakan Ardo <hakan@debian.org>
picon-news         Hakan Ardo <hakan@debian.org>
libcompface        Hakan Ardo <hakan@debian.org>
picon-users        Hakan Ardo <hakan@debian.org>
picon-usenix       Hakan Ardo <hakan@debian.org>
picon-domains      Hakan Ardo <hakan@debian.org>
picon-unknown      Hakan Ardo <hakan@debian.org>
picon-weather      Hakan Ardo <hakan@debian.org>
cvsweb             James Bromberger <jeb@debian.org>
flip               James R. Van Zandt <jrv@debian.org>
libwn6             James R. Van Zandt <jrv@debian.org>
emacspeak          James R. Van Zandt <jrv@debian.org>
barcode            Jim Westveer <jwest@netnw.com>
liveice            Jochen Friedrich <jochen@scram.de>
snmptrapfmt        Jochen Friedrich <jochen@scram.de>
pilot-template     John Goerzen <jgoerzen@complete.org>
fidogate           Jonathan McDowell <noodles@earth.li>
gcb                Joop Stakenborg <pa3aba@debian.org>
fbbdoc             Joop Stakenborg <pa3aba@debian.org>
z8530-utils2       Joop Stakenborg <pa3aba@debian.org>
xdelta             LaMont Jones <lamont@debian.org>
tkusr              Ludovic Drolez <ldrolez@debian.org>
websec             Ludovic Drolez <ldrolez@debian.org>
af                 Malc Arnold <malc@thing.demon.co.uk>
ucbmpeg-play       Malc Arnold <malc@thing.demon.co.uk>
gtkgo              Marcela Tiznado <mtiznado@linux.org.ar>
crypt++el          Mario Lang <mlang@debian.org>
lx-gdb             Mark W. Eichin <eichin@thok.org>
kdc2tiff           Martin Wuertele <maxx@debian.org>
floppybackup       Matthew Vernon <matthew@debian.org>
obexserver         Michael Holzt <kju@debian.org>
kwavecontrol       Morten Hustveit <morten@debian.org>
dmapi              Nathan Scott <nathans@debian.org>
verse              Oliver Elphick <Oliver.Elphick@lfix.co.uk>
ethiop             Paul Seelig <pseelig@debian.org>
localepurge        Paul Seelig <pseelig@debian.org>
linpopup           Paul Slootman <paul@debian.org>
set6x86            Richard A. Hecker <hecker@debian.org>
biew               Stefan Alfredsson <alfs@debian.org>
cksfv              Stefan Alfredsson <alfs@debian.org>
falselogin         Tibor Koleszar <oldw@debian.org>
xxdiff             Tomas Pospisek <tpo_deb@sourcepole.ch>


Version: GnuPG v1.4.2.2 (GNU/Linux)


Reply to: