[Date Prev][Date Next] [Thread Prev][Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

/usr/lib/menu vs .desktop files - possible mass bug filling

I would like to know your opinion about creating menu from Debian packages.
Debian Policy. section 9.6 says that, under some conditions (not significant
in this case), package should register a menu entry for its applications,
for users of the menu and pdmenu packages.

I've found[1] 48 packages[3] which have ${packagename}.desktop in
/usr/share/gnome/apps subdirectories without menu file in /usr/lib/menu.

So, my question are:
Does update-menu support .desktop file?
Do window managers in Debian support .desktop file?
Are there any plans to change Debian Policy and use .desktop files?

And, if answers to all above questions are negative:
Should I review[2] those packages and file RC bug agains them?


[1] Script is attached
[2] This list has been generated automagically with attached script, I
    didn't review manually those packages. Please notify me if you find
    any inconsistencies.
[3] List follows:
    acme 2.4.3-2 Devin Carraway <devin@debian.org>
    eyesapplet 4:3.2.2-1 Ben Burton <bab@debian.org>
    file-roller 2.4.4-1 Sebastien Bacher <seb128@debian.org>
    gconf-editor 2.6.0-1.is.2.4.0 Takuo KITAME <kitame@debian.org>
    gdesklets 0.26.1-2 Sebastien Bacher <seb128@debian.org>
    gnome-blog 0.7-3 Frederic Peters <fpeters@debian.org>
    gnome-find 1.0.2 Yooseong Yang <yooseong@debian.org>
    gnome-jabber 0.3+cvs.20031208-1 Sebastian D.B. Krause <krause@sdbk.de>
    gnome-pkgview 1.0.5-2 Ross Burton <ross@debian.org>
    gnopernicus 0.7.1-1 Mario Lang <mlang@debian.org>
    grcm 0.1.5-1 James Morrison <phython@debian.org>
    grubconf 0.5-1 Luis R. Rodriguez <mcgrof@ruslug.rutgers.edu>
    gtodo 0.13.5-1 Mika Hämäläinen <mika.j.hamalainen@tut.fi>
    gwget2 0.7-3 Luca - De Whiskey's - De Vitis <luca@debian.org>
    kamera 4:3.2.2-1 Debian Qt/KDE Maintainers <debian-qt-kde@lists.debian.org>
    karamba 0.17-4 Jean-Michel Kelbert <kelbert@debian.org>
    kbiff 3.7.1-1 Jean-Michel Kelbert <kelbert@debian.org>
    kcd Ben Burton <bab@debian.org>
    kdesktop 4:3.2.2-1 Debian Qt/KDE Maintainers <debian-qt-kde@lists.debian.org>
    kdiff3 0.9.81-2 Eike Sauer <eikes@cs.tu-berlin.de>
    kdirstat 2.4.0-1 Mike Schacht <mschacht@alumni.washington.edu>
    keybled 0.62-2 Aurelien Jarno <aurel32@debian.org>
    kflog 2.1.1-2 Stefan Gybas <sgybas@debian.org>
    kfocus 1.0.2-13 Mark Purcell <msp@debian.org>
    kgamma 4:3.2.2-1 Debian Qt/KDE Maintainers <debian-qt-kde@lists.debian.org>
    kid3 0.4-1 Aurelien Jarno <aurel32@debian.org>
    klaptopdaemon 4:3.2.2-1 Debian Qt/KDE Maintainers <debian-qt-kde@lists.debian.org>
    klipsi 0.12-4 John Lines <john@paladin.demon.co.uk>
    klog 0.2.8-1 Jaime Robles <jaime@kde.org>
    kmerlin 1.4.2-1 Mark Purcell <msp@debian.org>
    konsolekalendar 4:3.2.2-1 Debian Qt/KDE Maintainers <debian-qt-kde@lists.debian.org>
    ksim 4:3.2.2-1 Debian Qt/KDE Maintainers <debian-qt-kde@lists.debian.org>
    ksplash 4:3.2.2-1 Debian Qt/KDE Maintainers <debian-qt-kde@lists.debian.org>
    kwalletmanager 4:3.2.2-1 Debian Qt/KDE Maintainers <debian-qt-kde@lists.debian.org>
    kwavecontrol 0.3-3 Morten Hustveit <morten@debian.org>
    kweather 4:3.2.2-1 Ben Burton <bab@debian.org>
    linuxtrade 3.65-4 Dirk Eddelbuettel <edd@debian.org>
    memprof 0.5.1-8 Adam Majer <adamm@galacticasoftware.com>
    monster-masher 1.4-1 Sven Luther <luther@debian.org>
    nmapfe 3.50-1 LaMont Jones <lamont@debian.org>
    obconf 1.5-1 Tore Anderson <tore@debian.org>
    ogle-gui 0.9.2-2 Mikael Hedin <micce@debian.org>
    prismstumbler 0.7.0-2 Phil Blundell <pb@nexus.co.uk>
    python 2.3.3-7 Matthias Klose <doko@debian.org>
    quark 3.21-2 Sven Luther <luther@debian.org>
    unicorn 0.8-3 Sven Luther <luther@debian.org>
    vimpart 4:3.2.2-1 Ben Burton <bab@debian.org>
    wine 0.0.20040309-1 Ove Kaaven <ovek@arcticnet.no>

habitus - ustrukturowana struktura strukturująca
					/definicja socjologiczna/
use strict;

my $home='/home/mirror/debian';
my $dist='sid';
my @sections=('main','contrib','non-free');
my $arch='i386';
my $sec;
my %p;
my $debfile;

foreach $sec(@sections) {
	my $file=$home.'/dists/'.$dist.'/'.$sec.'/binary-'.$arch.'/Packages';
	next LOOP if (!-f $file);
	open(PACKAGES,$file) || die "Cannot open Packages file for $dist/$sec/$arch\n";
	while(<PACKAGES>) {
		/^ / && next PKG;
		/^(Package|Maintainer|Version|Filename): (.*)$/ && {$p{$1}=$2};
		/^$/ && do { #Przetwarza
		  print STDERR $p{Package}."                                                               \r";
		  open(DPKG,'dpkg-deb -c '.$debfile.'|');
		  while(<DPKG>) {
			/\.\/.*$/ && {$_=$&};
			s/ ->.*//;
			/\/$/ && next LINE;
			my $pkgreg=$p{Package};
			/\/usr\/lib\/menu\/$pkgreg$/ && do {$p{menu}=$_; $p{hasmenu}=1};
			/\/$pkgreg\.desktop$/ && do {$p{desktop}=$_; $p{hasdesktop}=1};
		  if ($p{hasdesktop}&&!$p{hasmenu}) {
		  	print $p{Package}." ".$p{Version}." ".$p{Maintainer}."\n";
		  	print STDERR $p{Package}." ".$p{Version}." ".$p{Maintainer}."\n";

Attachment: signature.asc
Description: Digital signature

Reply to: