Bug#173199: apt-get (dist-)upgrade should default to No when removing packages
On Sun, Dec 15, 2002 at 01:54:52PM -0400, Paolo Benvenuto wrote:
> I consider that the question of apt-get (dist-)upgrade about continuing
> upgrade (Do you want to continue? [Y/n] ) should default to No in case
> that the upgrade might REMOVE some package. It would be less dangerous to
> hurry user that many times anticipate keystrokes.
If you do not intend to allow apt to remove packages, 'upgrade' should be
used instead of 'dist-upgrade'. By explicitly requesting dist-upgrade, you
are giving apt permission to remove packages.